Henry Buhl Library: HIST 209: Renaissance & Early Modern Europe: Find Primary Sources

Finding Primary Sources Using Henry

Search for Primary Sources

1. Go to Henry.

2. Click on Advanced Search.

3. From this screen, add your search terms to one or more search boxes. Then, add the words primary source* to another search box.

All results will be primary sources OR include some primary source material.

How do I know if the source is all primary sources or just includes some primary source material?

The library indicates sources that are fully primary sources with a genre heading (see example here):

Sources that have both primary and secondary material are marked with the phrase "Includes primary source material" in the Notes (shown here).

Primary Source Collections Available thorugh Buhl

Daily Life Through World History in Primary Documents
Call Number: Oversz CB 69 .D35 2008
A three-volume set of sources beginning with the ancient world and continuing through to modern times. The sources included cover topics such as government, warfare, religion, and education.
Defining Documents in World History: Renaissance & Early Modern Era (1308-1600)
Call Number: CB 361 .R46 2017
Defining Documents in World History: Renaissance & Early Modern Era explores vital documents from important world figures from the 15th and 16th centuries, including Thomas Aquinas, Giovanni Boccaccio, Marco Polo, and many more.
Defining Documents in World History: the 17th Century (1601-1700)
Call Number: D 242 .A17 2017 v. 1-2
This volume offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents and historic events that shaped law, government, religion, and culture throughout the 17th century.
English Historical Documents
Call Number: Ref DA 26 .E56
This 12 volume set includes documents from British history beginning in the year 500 c.e. through 1914. These documents provide access to first-hand information about parliamentary proceedings, descriptions of people and places, correspondence, etc. Volumes 6-7 (spanning 1559-1659) are missing.
Milestone Documents in World History
Call Number: Oversz D 5 .M55 2010
Includes four volumes covering ancient history through the 21st century.
Voices of the Reformation
Call Number: Oversz BR 301 .V65 2015
This fascinating collection of primary source documents furnishes the accounts—in their own words—of those who initiated, advanced, or lived through the Reformation.

Primary Sources on the Web

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Includes "selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations" documenting European history from ancient through modern times (from Brigham Young University).
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
A section of this site is dedicated to primary sources from the Scientific Revolution.
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
Contains information and primary sources about the Islamic world from Pre-History through modern times (from Fordham University).
Hanover Historical Texts Project
"The Project's principal aim is to make primary texts readily available to students and faculty for use in history and humanities courses" (from Hanover College History Department). Sources are available for the Reformation, the Catholic Reformation, and the Religious Wars.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Try browsing by subject (early church) or author (which lists their dates). Contains a lot of information about the early church (from Calvin College).
British History Online
Includes information on local history (by country, parish, or region), Parliament, religious history, as well as historical urban and geographical information. 80% of the content is available for free.
German History in Documents and Images
"A comprehensive collection of original historical materials documenting German history from the beginning of the early modern period to the present." Oral histories, letters, speeches and other documents related to Nazi Germany are included in the collection.