Henry Buhl Library: Applied Statistics: Articles & Dissertations

Journal Article Databases

Journal Article Databases:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Research database supporting all areas of academic study covering 8,500+ popular and scholarly periodicals, including 3000+ with full text.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics, with full text of 2,300+ popular and peer-reviewed journals back to 1886.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers research for all levels of education and all educational specialties, with indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals and full text for more than 1,200 journals and about 500 books.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Large database of educational research and literature including journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, and books dating back to 1966, many available as full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archival Database of full-text scholarly journal articles, books, images, and primary sources across many academic disciplines.
PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Search both PsycARTICLES & PsycINFO for Psychology articles, dating back to 1872. Contains citations and abstracts for scholarly literature in all areas of psychology, as well as full-text articles from the APA and other select publishers
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Features citations, abstracts, and some full text for journal articles back to 1895 to support research in sociology.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from 500+ journals on sports and sports medicine.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Large database of citations across the sciences and social sciences from 1973 to the present based on the Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include the number of times the article has been cited.

Using Web of Science video

Dissertation Database:

Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Index to US and international historic and contemporary academic dissertations and theses, some with full text

Find a Database by Topic

1. Go to the Articles & Databases list.

2. Use the Subject drop-down menu, select your topic area, and then click Search. Articles & Databases page with Biology subject selected.

Journal articles are very specific. Locating relevant articles is always easier after you have completed your background reading and examined quality books on the subject.

Use more than one article database. Each database indexes a set of journals, conference proceedings, books, etc., but there is no database (not even Google) that indexes everything. To find as much as possible, you will need to use more than one database and try a variety of search terms.

To complete a thorough search of the existing literature, you will need to use more than one database and try a variety of search terms.

A to Z List of Journals
Always check the A to Z list to see if we have access to the journal title and date of publication you need!

Need an article that isn't full text? Access the request form below.

Student Document Delivery Form

Find Articles using Citations

Option 1: Using Science Citation Index or Social Science Citation Index

1. Locate an article in Science Citation Index or Social Science Citation Index.

Science Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Part of Web of Knowledge/Web of Science. Daily updates make it a good source for recent information. Gives the number of times each article has been cited. Use Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to find impact factors for journals in science, social sciences, and technology.
Social Science Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Access to research data from 3,000 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines.

Intro to Science Citation Index video
Introduction to searching Science Citation Index, accessing full text, and expanding your research with citations.

2. Click on the:

Citations button for a list of articles that your article (published after your result) OR
References button to access to the article's bibliography.

Option 2: Using Google Scholar

1. Enter the title of a known article into Google Scholar.

2. Click on the Cited by link.

3. (Optional) Limit by date or sort your results.

4. Review the abstracts or full text provided to find more articles!