Henry Buhl Library: HIST 103: Freshman Seminar: Start your Research

Best Places to Start your Research

Great Events from History: The 20th Century, 1901-1940
Call Number: Ref D 421 .G629 2007 v.1-6
These volumes bring up the world's most important events and developments from 1901 through 1940.
Great Events from History: The 20th Century, 1941-1970
Call Number: Ref D 421 .G6295 2007 v.1-6
Contains 1,112 essays on more than 1,100 significant world events between 1941 and 1970.
Great Lives from History: The 20th Century, 1901-2000
Call Number: Ref CT 120 .G687 2008 v.1-10
Worldwide coverage of important men and women in all areas of achievement who flourished between 1901 and 2000.
The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich
Call Number: Ref DD 256.5 .G76313 1991 v.1-2
Includes entries on individual persons, as well as topics such as Collaboration, France, and Vichy.

Salem History Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of key reference eBooks on historical and cultural topics, including several primary sources and biographical series.
World at War: Conflict and Society This link opens in a new window
Provides information and insights into military conflicts, covering all time periods and regions. Includes essays, timelines, images, and primary sources.

Jewish History & Holocaust Resources

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
Call Number: Ref D 804.3 .E53 1990 v.1-4
Provides balanced, up-to-date, authoritative summaries of everything concerning the Holocaust.
Encyclopedia Judaica
Call Number: Ref DS 102.8 .E498 2007 v.1-22
Relevant entry examples: France, Vichy government, World War II
The Holocaust: An Encyclopedia and Document Collection
Call Number: Ref D 804.25 .H655 2017 v.1-4
Provides reference entries, primary documents, and personal accounts from individuals who lived through the Holocaust that allow readers to better understand the cultural, political, and economic motivations that spurred the Final Solution.
Encyclopedia of Invasions and Conquests from Ancient Times to the Present
Call Number: Ref D 25.A2 D38 2023
Includes entries on the Allied and Nazi invasions of France.

Military History Resources

The Encyclopedia of War
Covers all aspects of war, including battles, cultures and society, key figures, strategy and tactics, and weapons across all continents and all periods of human history.
Germany at War
Call Number: Ref DD 101 .G47 2014 v. 1-4
Written by experts for use by nonexperts, this monumental work probes Germany's "Genius for War" and the unmistakable pattern of tactical and operational innovation and excellence evident throughout the nation's military history. * Examines wars, battles, leaders, weapons, and strategy and tactics.
The Second World War: Europe and the Mediterranean
Call Number: Ref D 743 .S42 1989 v.1
Provides a detailed history of military campaigns, such as the Normandy Invasion.

Start with some background reading.

Tip: Use the links and books on this tab to help you locate names, dates, and keywords.

Your research will be better and take less time!
Use bibliographies to locate other books and articles.
Watch out for authors and/or titles that are cited over and over; they may be important.