Henry Buhl Library: Classical Studies: Classical Christian Education

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Christian Education
Call Number: Ref BV 1471.3 .E53 2015 v.1-3
In The Encyclopedia of Christian Education, contributors explore the many facets of Christian education in terms of its impact on curriculum, literacy, teacher training, outcomes, and professional standards.
Encyclopedia of Christianity in the United States
Call Number: Ref BR 515 .E52 2016 v.1-5
The Encyclopedia of Christianity in the United States outlines the myriad roles Christianity has played and continues to play.

Find Books & eBooks

Find free online books here:

eBooks & Online Books page
Provides access to thousands of eBooks and online books. Use the tabs at the top to locate eBooks by discipline.

The Oxford Handbook of Childhood and Education in the Classical World
The Oxford Handbook of Childhood and Education in the Classical World presents current research in a wide range of topics on ancient childhood, including sub-disciplines of Classics that rarely appear in collections on the family or childhood such as archaeology and ancient medicine.

TIPS:

Browse HENRY by subject.
Use subject headings to locate more books.
Use bibliographies to expand your search (tips for determining if a citation is for a book, a journal article, or a chapter in an edited book).

Screengrab of Henry Advanced Search for Rome in the Notes and Titles fields, with the Any of These bullet selected.

Try various spellings (ex: Genghis Khan and Chinggis Khan).
Search in the notes field, as well as the title and subject fields (see screenshot above).
Try our list of E-Books & Online Books.

Need a book the library does not own?

You can request the book through Interlibrary Loan. Info and a downloadable form are available here!

To search for books available in other libraries, try using

WorldCat -- Search the holdings of more than 10,000 libraries to locate books and identify citation information.

Library of Congress -- Access to the Library of Congress catalog and other online collections.

NOTE: Users do not need to identify a library that owns the book. Simply provide the appropriate information on the form and library staff will do the rest!

Journal Article Databases

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers research for all levels of education and all educational specialties, with indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals and full text for more than 1,200 journals and about 500 books.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Large database of educational research and literature including journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, and books dating back to 1966, many available as full text.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts for articles from 2,300+ academic journals back to 1955 for world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archival Database of full text scholarly journal articles.

Journal articles are very specific.

Finding articles is easier after you have read up on your topic.

Use more than one article database.

No database searches everything.
For thorough research, use more than one database and try different search terms.

A to Z List of Journals
Always check the A to Z list to see if we have access to the journal title and date of publication you need!

Need an article that isn't full text? Access the request form below.

Document Delivery Forms

Remember, scholarship is international.

You may come across some great articles in which the titles (and thus the articles) are not in English.

So, when you can, it is a good idea to limit your searches to articles in English.