HIST 338: Global Military History II

Volumes 1-2 cover leaders and important figures of the Cold War era, while volume 3 includes a chronology, concepts, events and bibliography.

This great starting point for research on terrorism covers counterterrorism strategies and laws since WWII, key issues, counterterrorism since 9/11, and more.

Two volumes introduce the history of colonial wars in Africa and illustrate why African countries like the Democratic Republic of Congo, Nigeria, Somalia, and Sudan continue to experience ethnic, political, and religious violence in the early 21st century. * Contains alphabetical entries on wars, campaigns, battles, leaders, and other topics related to European colonial conquest in Africa.

Provides historical background, key dates, names of participants, type of conflict, and small bibliographies for wars and conflicts fought since WWII.

Includes entries on important people, places, terms, and battles of the Middle East Wars, as well as maps, a chronology, and a collection of primary documents.

Volumes 1 and 2 of this encyclopedia include entries on a variety of subjects and persons related to the Korean War. Volume 3 is a collection of primary documents, including public addresses, government documents, telegrams, reports, etc.

An A to Z guide to topics of the Vietnam War, with major essays on subjects including American Perspectives, Colonialism, Media and the War, Vietnamese Perspectives and others. A chronology and full-text of the Paris Peace Accords are also included.

Volumes 1 and 2 provide A to Z entries on topics and persons related to the War. Volume 2 also includes bibliographies and a chronology of the War. Volume 3 is a collection of primary documents.

Volumes 1-4 include entries on important people, places, events, and topics related to WWI. Volume 5 is comprised of primary documents related to the Great War.

Europe Since 1945: An Encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference work of some 1,700 entries in two volumes. Its scope includes all of Europe and the successor states to the former Soviet Union.

Written by experts for use by nonexperts, this monumental work probes Germany's "Genius for War" and the unmistakable pattern of tactical and operational innovation and excellence evident throughout the nation's military history. * Examines wars, battles, leaders, weapons, and strategy and tactics.

"An ideal resource for anyone interested in better understanding the controversial Iraq War. It treats the war in its entirety, covering politics, religion, and history, as well as military issues" (from ABC-CLIO).

A comprehensive overview of Mexico's military history from 1810 to the present day, including rare facts and information not found online. * Contains 300 entries covering every aspect of military history ranging from weapons to terminology to practices.

This authoritative and comprehensive encyclopedia covers all the key wars, insurgencies, and battles that have occurred in the Middle East roughly between 3100 BCE and the early decades of the twenty-first century. Volume 4 consists of primary documents.

This easy-to-use reference explores the people and events that shaped Russian military history and impacted Europe, Asia, and the world over the past eight centuries.

Combining reference entries and examination of primary documents from the Russian Revolution, this book gives students a better understanding of how and why political forces fought to reshape the Russian empire 100 years ago--and provides keen insights into the Soviet Union that resulted.

Includes essays discussing various aspects of the War, such as the revolution, resistance, politics, strategy, civil war, and more.

This authoritative reference follows the history of conflicts in the Balkan Peninsula from the 19th century through the present day. * Places the conflicts, battles, and wars in perspective through informative "Causes and Consequences" essays.

Whether one is interested in learning about anthrax, sarin, the neutron bomb--or any other weapon of mass destruction--this thorough and detailed reference is the place to find answers.

With its authoritative reference entries, multiple introductory and perspective essays, primary source documents, detailed chronology, and bibliography, this single-volume reference provides all the key information readers need to understand this monumental conflict.

“Palgrave's Great Generals Series is an important and inspiring contribution to our understanding of modern-day warfare. Every book in the series will provide invaluable insight into the legacies of eminent military leaders and take the reader on a gripping tour of the most spectacular maneuvers, missions and battles in world history.”

-- General Wesley K. Clark (ret.)

Each Essential Histories book studies the origins, politics, fighting and repercussions of one major war or theatre of war, from both military and civilian perspectives. Spanning 3000 years of human conflict, most major wars are covered, from the Punic Wars to the Iran-Iraq war.

This series includes volumes covering the Spanish Civil War, the War in Vietnam, World War II, Arab-Israeli Conflict, and others.

This series provides good overview of a country's history.

Featured countries: Iran; Russia; Somalia

This series provides good overviews of a country's history.

Featured countries: France; India; Russia; Spain

These brief volumes include a great overview of people, events and topics.

Highlighted volumes include: the First World War; Nuclear Weapons; the Spanish Civil War

The acclaimed author of The Face of Battle examines centuries of conflict in a variety of diverse societies and cultures.

Covers the iconic weapons, armor, equipment, and battles that have defined war through the ages, showing the impact of changes in military technology on the very fabric of history.

This unique reference book introduces readers to the causes and effects of the 20th century's most significant conflicts and explains how the impact of these conflicts still resonates today.

Air Combat is a comprehensive history of airborne warfare, from the first pre-WWI skirmishes in converted reconnaissance aircraft to present-day operations in the Middle East and Asia.

Containing full-color artworks and action photographs, Land Combat is a comprehensive guide to how wars have been fought since the outbreak of World War I. All of the most famous wars and campaigns are featured, from the Western Front to the Blitzkrieg, the Arab-Israeli wars and Vietnam, up to the Gulf and the present day.

Sea Combat is a comprehensive guide to how the ships, submarines and naval weapons that have been developed since the outbreak of World War I have fought their battles.

This highly detailed and well-illustrated single-volume work documents the evolution of warfare across history through weaponry and technological change.

This works provides a detailed chronology of the events of military conflict involving the Americas beginning in 1492 and continuing through modern times. Volume 2 begins with the American Revolution continues into the 21st century.

Compiled for the Historical Research Center, Air University and Office of Air Force History.

Surface, underwater, naval-air and amphibious campaigns are all covered, and periodic assessments sum up the strategic situations in the worldwide theatres.

A featured example is Grand Strategy by J.R.M. Butler -- considered to be the "official military history of the war." Call Number: D 743 .B83 1956 vols. 2, 3, 5, 6

The West Point History of World War II combines the expertise of preeminent historians with hundreds of maps and images, many created for this volume or selected from Army collections.

This book follows Italy's military history from the late Renaissance through the present day, arguing that its leaders have consistently looked back to the power of Imperial Rome as they sought to bolster Italy's status and influence in the world.

While including operational and tactical detail that appeals to military history enthusiasts, this book simultaneously integrates military history into the broader themes of Russian history and draws comparisons to developments in Europe.

This atlas tracks the political configuration of Northeast Asia in ten-year segments from 1590 to 1890, in five-year segments from 1890 to 1960, and in ten-year segments from 1960 to 2010, delineating the distinct history and importance of the region.