Henry Buhl Library: Social Work: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and more

ESW

The Encyclopedia of Social Work [is] the first continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Building off the classic reference work, a valuable tool for social workers for over 85 years, the online resource of the same name offers the reliability of print with the accessibility of a digital platform.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues
Coverage in this extensive encyclopedia comprises of business and the economy issues; criminal justice issues; family and society; and environment, science and technology issues.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Online edition of 26 volume encyclopedia covering all fields of the social and behavioral sciences. Subjects covered include: anthropology, psychology, demography, economics, education, gender studies, law, linguistics, public policy, sociology, urban planning, etc.
Handbook of Research on Civic Engagement and Social Change in Contemporary Society
Examines the unexplored field of applying social change to civic engagement in an effort to enlarge public welfare activities.
Latinos and Latinas at Risk: Issues in Education, Health, Community and Justice
Addresses the Latino/a experience in present-day America, covering six major areas of importance: education, health, family, children, teens, and violence.

Oxford Reference Online Database This link opens in a new window
eBook collection of 400+ encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and literary companions across many research areas.

The Praeger Handbook of Social Justice and Psychology
Explains the many ways psychology is being applied to promote social justice, addressing such issues as social justice ideology and critical psychology, war and trauma, poverty and classism, environmental justice, and well-being and suffering.

In the library

Social Workers' Desk Reference
Call Number: Ref HV 40 .S6464 2015
ISBN: 9780199329649

Other Encyclopedias of Interest

Encyclopedia of Research Design
A collection of entries covering how to plan and conduct empirical research, including the use of both quantitative and qualitative methods.
Encyclopedia of Social Networks
"Offer[s] comprehensive coverage of the theory and research within the social sciences that has sprung from the analysis of such groupings, with accompanying definitions, measures, and research."