Henry Buhl Library: Education -- Starting Points: Finding Journal Articles

Core Research Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Large database of educational research and literature including journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, and books dating back to 1966, many available as full text.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers research for all levels of education and all educational specialties, with indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals and full text for more than 1,200 journals and about 500 books.
Social Science Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Part of Web of Knowledge/Web of Science. Gives the number of times each article has been cited.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text access to scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines including sociology, anthropology, religion and more. Articles generally become available 3-5 years after publication and some date back to the 1800's!
Scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines including sociology, anthropology, religion -- some date back to the 1800's!

Additional Research Databases

PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Search both PsycARTICLES & PsycINFO for Psychology articles, dating back to 1872. Contains citations and abstracts for scholarly literature in all areas of psychology, as well as full-text articles from the APA and other select publishers
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Features citations, abstracts, and some full text for journal articles back to 1895 to support research in sociology.
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text access to key resources from the American Psychiatric Association, including DSM-5 and related resources as well as journals and eBooks.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Research database supporting all areas of academic study covering 8,500+ popular and scholarly periodicals, including 3000+ with full text.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for popular teacher and administrator journals.

Document Delivery

Need an article that the library does not have access to? Fill out the online form listed below!

Student Article Request Form

Faculty/Staff Article Request Form

Peer-Reviewed

Need to verify a journals peer-review/scholarly status? You can do this in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory! You can search by title, or ISSN.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
For more than 75 years, librarians and publishers have trusted Ulrich's for unbiased, in-depth information about journals, magazines, newspapers and other periodicals around the world.