Henry Buhl Library: Education -- Starting Points: Encyclopedias, Handbooks and more

Online Education Encyclopedias

Achieving Sustainability: Visions, Principles, and Practices
It presents and analyzes the underpinnings of the multi-disciplinary concept of sustainability.
Encyclopedia of American Law
Covers leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and primary documents.
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education (Sage)
Covers the full spectrum of diversity issues, including race, class, gender, religion, language, exceptionality, and the global dimensions of diversity as they relate to education in the United States and worldwide.
Also in print: REF LC 1099 .E53 2012 v.1-4
Encyclopedia of Educational Reform and Dissent (Sage)
Searchable by Subject, A-Z listing of entries as well as includes a "Reader's Guide" which allows for browsing through thematic categories. Key Themes include accountability, diversity, public policy, religion and religious education, school types, special needs and technology.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, 2nd Edition
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
This work includes 23 new ethnic groups and contains 152 revised ethnic entries on specific minority groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish.
Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia provides coverage of important public health concerns. Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
Provides overviews, background, outlook, and other perspectives on hundreds of controversial issues affecting the US and world today.

Multicultural America: A Multimedia Encyclopedia
Includes "more than 900 signed entries not just providing a compilation of specific ethnic groups and their histories but also covering the full spectrum of issues flowing from the increasingly multicultural canvas that is America today."
The Praeger Handbook of Faith-Based Schools in the United States, K–12
Provides users with a great introduction to a variety of religious faiths and cultures and their impact on education. Protestant, Catholic, Jewish, Islamic, and Orthodox Schools, and the issues that surround them, are addressed (from ABC-CLIO).

Other Relevant Encyclopedias

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Online version of the print Encyclopedia Britannica enhanced with multimedia content, select magazine and journal articles, and the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.

Encyclopedia of Geography
Encyclopedia gives historical geographical insight as well as focuses on the current need to understand geography ( (1) globalization, (2) environmental destruction, (3) new geospatial technologies, and (4) cyberspace.)
Encyclopedia of Women in Today’s World
Covers issues in contemporary women's and gender studies

Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Consists of 170+ country guides documenting culture, customs, history, business, and more.
Oxford Reference Online Database This link opens in a new window
eBook collection of 400+ encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and literary companions across many research areas.

in the reference room...

Encyclopedia of Education Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.
Call Number: Ref LB 15 .E47 2003 v.1 - 8
Encyclopedia of Special Education by Elaine Fletcher-Janzen (Editor); Cecil R. Reynolds (Editor) The Third Edition of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education offers a thoroughly revised, comprehensive A to Z compilation of authoritative information on the education of those with special needs. All articles are cross-referenced, and citations guiding you to related sources appear at the end of each entry.
Call Number: Ref LC 4007 .E53 2007 v.1 - 3
ISBN: 9780471677987
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education The SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education presents in three comprehensive volumes advanced research, accurate practical applications of research, historical foundations and key facts from the field of contemporary early childhood education. It also includes a comprehensive review of best educational practices with young children, effective preparation for early childhood professionals and policy making practices.
Call Number: Ref LB 1139.23 .S245 2016 v.1 - 3