Henry Buhl Library: Biography Resources: Biography Resources

Biography Resources

Highlighted Titles

Socrates: a Very Short Introduction

Call Number: B 317 .T24 2000

Vindication: a life of Mary Wollstonecraft

Call Number: PR 5841 .W8 Z717 2005

Thomas Jefferson

Call Number: E 332 .A67 2003

General Biography

Search Henry using the term(s) Biography, Biographies, or Biograph* (to search both terms simultaneously).

Tip: To specify your term to a particular time period or event, use the Advanced Search option to search for the topic and biograph* together.

For online titles, check out our collection of eBooks here:

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to over 200,000 full text eBooks across a variety of subjects.

Salem History Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Great Lives & Great Events encyclopedias.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Contains over 19,000 biographies of significant, influential, or notorious figures from American history written by prominent scholars. The American National Biography (ANB) is the successor to The Dictionary of American Biography (DAB).
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Contains 60,000+ biographies of important British historical figures from the Roman era to the present day, with 11,000+ portraits
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Contains a searchable collection of over 35,000 images as well as biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, speeches, or obituaries.
Oxford Reference Online Database This link opens in a new window
Online version of many Oxford University Press reference works.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Consists of the online equivalent of the printed Encyclopedia Britannica plus numerous supplementary resources.

If you are looking for a documentary on the life of a famous person, Portrait of Albert Einstein.
use the subject heading "Biographical (Nonfiction)."

Art & Music

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Call Number: Ref ML 105 .B16 2000 v.1-6
This work continues the tradition of offering the most comprehensive and authoritative information on the musicians, along with interesting and insightful evaluations of their contributions to the musical world.

Communication

Encyclopedia of Television
Call Number: Ref PN 1992.18 .E53 2005 v.1-4
This work includes entries about the lives of actors, comedians, producers, TV personalities, writers, and others who have worked/performed on television.

Law & Political Science

The Justices of the United States Supreme Court
Call Number: KF 8744 .F75 1995 v.1-5
This set includes biographies of Supreme Court Justices, as well as information on their major opinions.

Politics in America
Designed for use by political professionals, government officials, students, scholars, and interested citizens, it contains in-depth profiles of every member as well as data on their constituencies, apportionment, and redistricting.

Latin American Writers
Call Number: Ref PQ 7081 .A1 L37 1989 v. 1-3
This collection of bio-critical essays on Latin American writers from the 16th century to the present, is enhanced by Supplement I, covering writers who have come to the fore since the publication of the base set in 1989.
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
Call Number: Ref PN 771 .E5 1993 v. 1-5
Articles cover the authors and literatures of countries around the globe during the 20th century.
World Authors
Call Number: Ref PN 451 .W673 1996
Provides almost 2700 articles on twentieth-century authors from all over the world who wrote in English or whose works are available in English translation.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Signed essays written by scholars provide essential context for understanding the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and from all parts of the world.
Salem Literature Online This link opens in a new window
eBook collection supporting literary studies, including the Critical Insights series focused on individual authors, works, and themes.
Twayne's Authors Series (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
eBook series of 800+ volumes covering the lives, works, and importance of writers from around the world.
Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of journals, books, and reference works, as well as study guides and videos to support literary studies.

Math & Science Resources

Biographical Dictionary of Mathematicians
Call Number: Ref QA 28 .B534 1991 v.1-4
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Call Number: Ref Q 141 .D5 1981 v.1-16
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Call Number: Ref Q 141 .N45 2008 v.1-8
The Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science
Call Number: Ref Q 141 .B5285 2000 v.1-2
Biographical details of nearly 3000 scientists' lives, works and accomplishments around the globe.