Henry Buhl Library: HIST 372: The French Revolution & Napoleon: Find Primary Sources

Find Primary Sources using HENRY

Step 1: Use HENRY and select Advanced Search.

Step 2: Enter your search term(s) in the first box; and "primary source" in the second box.

Note: You can restrict your search terms to the Title, Subject, or Author fields using the drop-downs provided.

OR: Search by AUTHOR.

Ex: Search for works written by Napoleon (rather than works about him).

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Full text of colonial and Civil War-era newspapers, including Frank Leslie's Weekly (illustrated), the Lily, and the Virginia Gazette, as well as 19th century African-American newspapers. Use this database to locate newspaper articles demonstrating American perspectives of the French Revolution.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5 This link opens in a new window
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877.

Daily Life Through World History in Primary Documents
Call Number: Oversz CB 69 .D35 2008
A three-volume set of sources beginning with the ancient world and continuing through to modern times.

Volumes 1-2 cover the Ancient World and Middle Ages. The sources included cover topics such as government, warfare, religion, and education.

GALE Primary Sources (Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of The Sunday Times (London, UK : 1822-2006), and The Times (London, UK : 1785-2014), and a collection of 19th-century U.S. newspapers
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to journal and magazine articles, books, government documents, speech transcripts, etc. relating to the military and government.

19th Century British Pamphlets
Access several collections of British pamphlets (available via JSTOR).

To search the 19th Century British Pamphlets:

French Revolution Digital Archive
"The French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community. The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française."
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution
This site includes "12 topical essays, 250 images, 350 text documents, 13 songs, 13 maps, a timeline, and a glossary" (from George Mason University and City University of New York).
British Newspaper Coverage of the French Revolution
Access six newspaper articles published in the London Times and Morning Chronicle from 1792-1793. Topics include the September Massacre and the execution of Louis XVI (from University of California at Santa Barbara).
Gallica
Gallica is the digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France and its partners. Online since 1997 and is updated every week thousands of news and now offers access to more than 2 million documents. Site can be translated into English, but documents will be in original language.

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Includes "selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations" documenting European history from ancient through modern times (from Brigham Young University).
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
A section of this site is dedicated to primary sources from the Scientific Revolution.
Hanover Historical Texts Project
"The Project's principal aim is to make primary texts readily available to students and faculty for use in history and humanities courses" (from Hanover College History Department).

Hansard, 1803-2005
Provides the official parliamentary debates from Great Britain. You can read the information from specific dates or search a time period for a particular topic.

Papers of the War Department, 1784-1800
This "project, will ... mak[e] some 55,000 documents of the early War Department many long thought irretrievable but now reconstructed through a painstaking, multi-year research effort available online to scholars, students, and the general public."