Henry Buhl Library: Anthropology: Background Reading

Print & Online Resources by Topic

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E525 2010
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline.
Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures provides concise and objective descriptions of the dominant political, economic, social, and cultural systems of the countries of the world. The encyclopedia features country-by-country surveys in 40 separate categories, as well as maps, tables, charts, and lists that are linked with narrative accounts of each nation's peoples, history, government, society, and culture. New coverage includes: East Timor Marshall Islands The Federated States of Micronesia. New sections in each entry include: Culture Entertainment and recreation Etiquette Family life Flora and fauna Folklore and mythology Food Health A list of modern rulers Living conditions Personal appearance Science and technology Sports Work.
Call Number: Ref G 63 .K874 2007 v.1-4
ISBN: 0816063079
Native Peoples of the World: an Encyclopedia of Groups, Cultures, and Contemporary Issues
Call Number: Ref GN 380 .N383 2013 v. 1-3
This three-volume set profiles 400 of these indigenous peoples, concentrating on historical, political, and social conditions that affect their lives today. The set is organized into three sections: groups, countries, and issues. -- Booklist Review
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: Ref GN 333 .W67 2017 v.1-5
Clashing Views in Anthropology by Kirk Endicott; Robert Welsch
Call Number: GN 316 .T27 2013
Social and Cultural Anthropology by John Monaghan; Peter Just
Call Number: GN 316 .M64 2000

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Online edition of 26 volume encyclopedia covering all fields of the social and behavioral sciences. Subjects covered include: aging, psychology, demography, education, gender studies, law, linguistics, public policy, sociology, urban planning, etc.

Oxford Reference Online Database This link opens in a new window
eBook collection of 400+ encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and literary companions across many research areas.

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
This work includes 23 new ethnic groups and contains 152 revised ethnic entries on specific minority groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish.

American Indian Religious Traditions
Call Number: E 98 .R3 C755 2005 v.1-3
Combining the work of Native Americans and non-Native scholars, this reference work explores indigenous North American religions, religious practices, and rituals.
Encyclopedia Latina by Ilan Stavans; Harold Augenbraum
Call Number: Ref E 184 .S75 E587 2005 v.1-4
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)
Call Number: Ref E 184 .S75 O97 2005 v.1-4

Encyclopedia of Native Tribes of North America by Michael G. Johnson; Richard Hook (Illustrator)
Call Number: Oversz E 76.2 .J62 2014
Encyclopedia of the Yoruba
Call Number: Oversz DT 474.6 .Y67 E53 2016
The Yoruba people today number more than 30 million strong, with significant numbers in the United States, Nigeria, Europe, and Brazil. This landmark reference work emphasizes Yoruba history, geography and demography, language and linguistics, literature, philosophy, religion, and art.
Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East by John A. Shoup
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E84 2011
This encyclopedia is an essential guide on the different ethno-linguistic groups in Africa and today's complicated Middle East region.
Ethnic Groups of Europe by Jeffrey E. Cole (Editor)
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E841 2011
This comprehensive survey of ethnic groups of Europe reveals the dynamic process of ethnic identity and the relationship of ethnic groups to modern states.
Ethnic Groups of North, East, and Central Asia
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E844 2014
Covering countries ranging from Afghanistan and China to Kazakhstan and Russia, this encyclopedia supplies detailed information and informed perspectives, enabling readers to comprehend Asian ethnic groups as well as Asian politics and history.
Ethnic Groups of South Asia and the Pacific by James B. Minahan
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E842 2012
This comprehensive guide to the Pacific and South Asia provides detailed and enlightening information about the many ethnic groups of this increasingly important region of the world.
Ethnic Groups of the Americas by James B. Minahan
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E843 2013
Combining up-to-date information with extensive historical and cultural background, the encyclopedia covers approximately 150 groups arranged alphabetically. Each engaging entry offers a short introduction detailing names, population estimates, language, and religion. Readers will also learn about demographic trends and major population centers, parallels with other groups, typical ways of life, and relations with neighbors. Major events and notable challenges are documented, as are key figures who played a significant political or cultural role in the group's history. Each entry also provides a list for further reading and research.

Death and the Afterlife: A Cultural Encyclopedia by Richard P. Taylor
Call Number: Ref HQ1073 .T25 2000

Encyclopedia of Native American Healing
The various aspects of Native American healing found cross-culturally in North America, including Canadian & Inuit cultures are explored.
Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism
Focuses on "medicine" or sacred ceremonies conducted through shamans in North America.

Shamanism
Call Number: Ref GN 475.8 .S445 2004 v.1-2
A guide to worldwide shamanism and shamanistic practices, emphasizing historical and current cultural adaptations.
Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology by R. Jon McGee (Editor); Richard L. Warms (Editor)
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .T54 2013 v. 1-2
The Encyclopedia of Global Human Migration by Immanuel Ness (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Ref GN 370 .E55 2013 v. 1-5
The Encyclopedia of Global Human Migration provides a complete exploration of the prominent themes, events, and theoretical underpinnings of the movements of human populations from prehistory to the present day.
They Do What?: A Cultural Encyclopedia of Extraordinary and Exotic Customs from Around the World by Javier A. Galván (Editor)
Call Number: Ref GT 76 .T43 2014
The entries explore the origins of the custom, explain how it was established as a tradition, and describe how and where it is practiced. A thematic guide enables readers to look up entries by the type of tradition or custom, such as birth, coming of age, courtship and wedding, funeral, daily customs, holidays, and festivals.

Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Consists of 170+ country guides documenting culture, customs, history, business, and more.
Country Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date news and data on all recognized countries of the world, offering demographic, political, economic, business, and cultural information.