Henry Buhl Library: Economics: Getting Started

Palgrave Dictionary of Economics

Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
An encyclopedia, not a dictionary, the New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics contains signed essays by leading economists. Coverage: 1987 to 2018

Background Reading Resources by Topic

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
An encyclopedia, not a dictionary, the New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics contains signed essays by leading economists. Coverage: 1987 to 2018
Routledge Dictionary of Economics
Call Number: Ref HB 61 .R92 2013
The Routledge Dictionary of Economics provides the clearest, most authoritative definition of economic and financial terms available.
Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. Economic History
Call Number: Ref HC 102 .G35 2015 v.1-3
The Gale Encyclopedia Of U.S. Economic History is an accessible "one-stop" resource that offers comprehensive coverage of American economic history from the arrival of Europeans to the present.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Call Number: Ref HC 15 .O94 2003 v. 1-5
Includes 900 original articles on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders as well as markets, industries, and labor.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty, 2nd Edition addresses the persistence of poverty across the globe while updating and expanding the landmark first edition, originally published in 2006 prior to the economic calamities of 2008.

The Complete World Development Report Online
According to the site, "here you will find every page of every World Development Report published by the World Bank since 1978 in one convenient, cross-searchable website." Topics included in the reports range from agriculture to education to poverty reduction to urban development.

Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
A global market research database offering research reports and company profiles providing insight into industries, economies and consumers worldwide.
Country Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date news and data on all recognized countries of the world, offering demographic, political, economic, business, and cultural information.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Consists of 170+ country guides documenting culture, customs, history, business, and more.

Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society
Explores current topics, such as mass social media, cookies, and cyber-attacks, as well as traditional issues including accounting, discrimination, environmental concerns, and management.
Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime
This work incorporates information about a variety of white-collar crimes, and provides examples of persons, statutes, companies, and convictions.
Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics
Call Number: Ref HF 5387 .B55 1998
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics provides clear, concise and highly informative definitions and explanations of the key concepts in one of the most important fields in contemporary business.

Find Books & eBooks

TIPS:

Browse HENRY by subject.
Use subject headings to locate more books.
Use bibliographies to expand your search (tips for determining if a citation is for a book, a journal article, or a chapter in an edited book).

Try our list of E-Books & Online Books.

Here are a few search terms to get you started.

Simply enter one of the terms below into the search box and change the drop-down box to Subject.

Austrian school of economics
Capital
Comparative economics
Economic development
Economic history
Economic policy

NOTE: This is just a short list of terms to get you started. Be sure to look for additional terms as well.

Want to Browse the Shelves?

Here are some of the Relevant Call Number Ranges for Economics:

HB -- Economic theory

HC -- Economic history and conditions

HD -- Regulation

HG -- Monetary policy

Need a book the library does not own?

You can request the book through Interlibrary Loan. Info and a downloadable form are available here!

To search for books available in other libraries, try using

WorldCat -- Search the holdings of more than 10,000 libraries to locate books and identify citation information.

Library of Congress -- Access to the Library of Congress catalog and other online collections.

NOTE: Users do not need to identify a library that owns the book. Simply provide the appropriate information on the form and library staff will do the rest!