Between You and Me: Confessions of a Comma Queen by Mary Norris
Call Number: PE 1450 .N67 2015
Mary Norris has spent more than three decades in The New Yorker's copy department, maintaining its celebrated high standards. Now she brings her vast experience, good cheer, and finely sharpened pencils to help the rest of us in a boisterous language book as full of life as it is of practical advice.
But Can I Start a Sentence with "But"? : Advice from the Chicago Style Q&A
Call Number: PN 147 .B88 2016
Features some of the most popular--and hotly debated--rulings of Chicago Style Q&A and also recovers old favorites long buried in the archives.
The Christian Writer's Manual of Style
Call Number: BR 44 .C48 2016
Contains clear guidance on style questions related to religious writing, including many topics not addressed in other references or online.
Eats, Shoots and Leaves: the Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation
Call Number: PE 1450 .T75 2004
We all know the basics of punctuation. Or do we? A look at most neighborhood signage tells a different story. Through sloppy usage and low standards on the internet, in email, and now text messages, we have made proper punctuation an endangered species.
The Elements of Style
Call Number: PE 1408 .S772 2000
This book has conveyed the principles of English style to millions of readers.
Elements of Style 2017 : a Grammar, Style, and Punctuation Handbook for Modern Writers
Call Number: PE 1408 .D4 2016
"A grammar, style, and punctuation handbook for modern writers" -- Cover
Excuse Me, Your Participle's Dangling
Call Number: PE 1313 .D47 2013
This text will give you all the bare essentials of grammar that you need to write like a pro.
How to Not Write Bad
Call Number: PE 1408 .Y38 2013
According to Ben Yagoda's website, "I've noticed that a relatively small list of mistakes and problems accounted for the vast majority of the comments and corrections I make on my students' work. The book is an explanation of these problem spots, and a guide to getting them out of your writing."
In the World
Call Number: PE 1417 .T58 2004
"The work of writing clarifies who we are in relation to both God and the world about us." In the World equips readers to become better writers.
The Sense of Style
Call Number: PE 1421 .P56 2014
A short and entertaining book on the modern art of writing well by New York Times bestselling author Steven Pinker.
They Say / I Say
Call Number: PE 1431 .G73 2012
They Say / I Say demystifies academic writing by identifying its key rhetorical moves, the most important of which is to summarize what others have said ("they say") to set up one's own argument ("I say").
Tools Students Need to Be Skillful Writers
Call Number: Oversz LB 1576 .H673 2013
Includes information and activities for students to learn parts of speech, sentence patterns, and sentence combining, as well as practice for short writing assignments, and essays.
What Is Good Writing?
Call Number: P 53.4115 .H83 2015
In What Is Good Writing?, Geoffrey J. Huck advances the contemporary debate on writing achievement by drawing on empirical research in linguistics and the other cognitive sciences that shed light on the development of fluency in language.
Writing That Makes Sense
Call Number: PE 1408 .H63 2009
Writing That Makes Sense takes students through the basics of the writing process and critical thinking, and it teaches them how to write various types of academic essays they are likely to encounter in their academic careers.
Writing Well in the 21st Century
Call Number: LB 2369 .S65 2014
Writing Well in the 21st Century: The Five Essentials provides students, career-builders, and professional writers with the basic elements needed for writing in the 21st century.
Writing with Style
Call Number: PE 1408 .T69 2011
Provides insight into: how to generate interesting ideas and get them down on paper; how to write a critical analysis; how to write a crisp opener; how to invigorate a dull style; how to punctuate with confidence; how to handle various conventions--and much more.
The Craft of Science Writing: Selections from the Open Notebook
Call Number: PN 4784 .T3 C73 2020
Here, for the first time, is a collection of indispensable articles on the craft of science writing as told by some of the most skillful science journalists working today.
The Craft of Scientific Writing
Call Number: T 11 .A37 2018
The Craft of Scientific Writing is designed to help scientists and engineers - both professionals already active in the disciplines as well as students preparing to enter the professions - write about their work clearly and effectively.
An Editor's Guide to Writing and Publishing Science
Call Number: Q 223 .H7275 2019
Provides the foundations of a new approach to writing for both young scientists at the start of their careers, as well as for more experienced scientists to teach the younger generation.
The Handbook of Technical Writing
Call Number: T 11 .B78 2015
Uses smart, accessible language to spotlight and clarify technical writing today.
How to Write and Present Technical Information, 4th Edition
Call Number: T 11 .S528 2017
Thoroughly updated to discuss the use of tools such as Skype and social media, this concise volume shows how effective communication--via written text and spoken presentations--can positively impact project management in professional environments.
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper
Call Number: T 11 .D33 2016
Provides practical, easy-to-read, and immediately applicable guidance on preparing each part of a scientific paper: from the title and abstract, through each section of the main text, to the acknowledgments and references.
How to Write Technical Reports: Understandable Structure, Good Design, Convincing Presentation
Call Number: T 11 .H4713 2019
The 2nd edition was fundamentally changed and adopted to be displayed not only in book form, but also on all kinds of electronic devices.
A Primer of Mathematical Writing
Call Number: QA 42 .K73 2017
This is the second edition of a book originally published in 1997.
Scientific Writing = Thinking in Words
Call Number: T 11 .L5286 2011
Provides principles that make communicating research easier and encourages researchers to write confidently.
The Scientist's Guide to Writing
Call Number: T 11 .H43 2016
Provides practical advice to help scientists become more effective writers so that their ideas have the greatest possible impact.
Writing in the Technical Fields: a Practical Guide
Call Number: T 11 .E93 2020
The most engaging, relatable, and practical text available for students in the technical disciplines learning how to communicate effectively.
Writing Undergraduate Lab Reports: a Guide for Students
Call Number: T 11 .L625 2017
Writing clear, impactful reports is a crucial skill for science students, but few books focus on this area for the undergraduate. Particularly useful for biology students, this text adopts a hands-on approach, using example reports and published papers as models to put guidance into practice.
The Elements of Academic Style
Call Number: PE 1404 .H3943 2014
Helps ambitious students, newly minted Ph.D.'s, and established professors shape their work and develop their voices.
From Topic to Thesis
Call Number: BR 118 .K53 2016
Walks students through the process, focusing on five steps: finding direction, gathering sources, understanding issues, entering discussion and establishing a position.
Point Made: How to Write Like the Nation's Top Advocates
Call Number: KF 251 .G83 2014
The author takes an empirical approach, drawing heavily on the writings of the nation's 50 most influential lawyers. Their strategies, demystified and broken down into specific, learnable techniques, become a detailed writing guide full of practical models.
Quality Research Papers: for Students of Religion and Theology
Call Number: BL 41 .V94 2020
Quality Research Papers will guide students through an overabundance of online and library resources and help them craft excellent essays.
Style and Story: Literary Methods for Writing Nonfiction
Call Number: PN 145 .P957 2018
Style and Story is for those who wish to craft nonfiction texts that do more than simply relay facts and arguments.
Writing about Literature
Call Number: PE 1479 .C7 R59 2005
A hands-on guide for writing about literature, thus justifying the integration of literature and composition.
Writing Ethnographic Fieldnotes
Call Number: GN 307.7 .E44 2011
Presents a series of guidelines, suggestions, and practical advice for creating useful fieldnotes in a variety of settings, demystifying a process that is often assumed to be intuitive and impossible to teach.
Writing History in the Digital Age
Call Number: D 16.12 .W75 2013
Presents 20 essays from a wide array of notable scholars, each examining (and then breaking apart and reexamining) if and how digital and emergent technologies have changed the historical profession.
Writing the Community: Concepts and Models for Service Learning in Composition
Call Number: PE 1405 .U6 W765 2006
The essays in this volume show why service-learning and communication are a natural pairing and give a background on the relationship between service-learning and communication with maps to suggest where it should go in the future.
Because Digital Writing Matters
Call Number: PE 1404 .B43 2010
How to effectively apply digital writing skills in the classroom, from the prestigious National Writing Project.
Becoming a Teacher
Call Number: LB 1707 .B53 2012
Becoming a Teacher provides "a cross-disciplinary approach linking elements of narrative theory to all aspects of pre- and in-service teaching. In essence, it embraces the notion that what teachers say matters."
Creative Writing Innovations
Call Number: PN 181 .C74 2017
Rooted in classroom experience, this book takes teaching beyond the traditional workshop model to explore topics such as multi-media genres, collaborative writing and field-based work, as well as issues of identity.
Creative Writing Pedagogies for the Twenty-First Century
Call Number: PE 1404 .C726 2015
In Creative Writing Pedagogies for the Twenty-First Century, editors Alexandria Peary and Tom C. Hunley gather experts from both creative writing and composition studies to offer innovative alternatives to the traditional creative writing workshop.
Getting It in Writing
Call Number: LB 1576 .G4435 2011
Sixteen teachers. Sixteen journeys. These 16 teachers from across the nation have traveled a long and arduous path to seek and to reach for the methods and strategies that will make them successful writing teachers. This is their stories.
Power, Resistance, and Literacy
Call Number: LB 1631 .G655 2011
By incorporating inquiry and dialogue, this theoretical framework opens a space where resistance can be revealed and examined. Suggests ways of subverting the negative effects of the neoliberal reforms through dialogic, empowering, culturally responsive pedagogies.
Rehearsing New Roles
Call Number: PE 1404 .C346 2002
Argues for a developmental perspective to counter the fantasy held by many college faculty that students should, or could, be taught to write once so that ever after, they can write effectively on any topic, any place, any time.
Teaching Writing As Reflective Practice
Call Number: PE 1404 .H56 1995
Includes discussion of theory and research, as well as practical matters of the classroom; teachers are shown how to plan activities and sequences of activities that are appropriate for students who are within Vygotsky's "zone of proximal development."
Writing to Teach; Writing to Learn in Higher Education
Call Number: PE 1404 .M657 2006
Outlines the process of incorporating writing into a curriculum. The text includes appendices with sample checklists, a master scoring rubric, and examples of syllabi and individual assignments.