Henry Buhl Library: Spanish & Latin American Literature: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
Call Number: Ref PQ 7081 .A1 E558 2003
Draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
Latin American Writers
Call Number: Ref PQ 7081 .A1 L37 1989 v. 1-3
This collection of bio-critical essays on Latin American writers from the 16th century to the present, is enhanced by Supplement I, covering writers who have come to the fore since the publication of the base set in 1989.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latina and Latino Literature
Call Number: PS 153 .H56 O94 2020
Offers a sweeping introduction to a variety of genres and themes in Latina/o literature from its Latin American origins in the precolonial period to contemporary texts and perspectives.
Literary Cultures of Latin America
Call Number: Ref PQ 7081 .A1 L525 2004 v. 1-3
Takes into account relevant political, anthropological, economic, geographic, historical, demographic, and sociological research in order to understand the full context of each community's literature.
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature by Janet Perez; Maureen Ihrie
Call Number: Ref PQ 6055 .F46 2002 v. 1-2
Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater
Call Number: Ref PQ 7082 .D7 E63 2003
Traces the history of Latin American theater, including the Nuyorican and Chicano theaters of the United States, and surveys its history from the pre-Columbian period to the present. Sections cover individual Latin American countries.
Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater
Call Number: PQ 7081 .Y68 2011
Covers Portuguese-speaking Brazil and the 16 Spanish-speaking countries of continental Latin America (Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela).

World Literature in Spanish
Provides an introduction to the literature composed in Spanish. This linguistically based (rather than nationally defined) understanding of Spanish literature transcends genres, time periods, and political boundaries. Entries include biographies, literary movements and time periods, topics in literature, and more.
Critical Survey of World Literature
Call Number: Ref PN 523 .M29 2018 v. 1-6
A unique combination of biography and critical analysis, covering major writers from around the world and their significant works in fiction, drama, poetry, and nonfiction.
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
Call Number: Ref PN 771 .E5 1993 v. 1-5
Articles cover the authors and literatures of countries around the globe during the 20th century.
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies
The Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies brings together the most wide-ranging and up-to-date scholarship ever assembled on the colonial, postcolonial and neo-colonial condition, covering the period from 1492 to the present.

Encyclopedia of the Novel
Call Number: Ref PN 41 .E487 1998 v. 1-2
Articles in this encyclopedia cover authors, novels, and literatures of countries around the world.
Critical Survey of Poetry
Call Number: Ref PN 1021 .C7 2011 v. 1-14
Critical Survey of Drama
Call Number: Ref PN 1625 .C68 2018 v. 1-8
The new fourth edition of The Critical Survey of Drama contains over 650 new and updated essays--over 550 discuss individual dramatists and nearly 100 cover important overview topics that are critical to the study of drama as a whole.

Cyclopedia of Literary Characters
Call Number: Ref PN 44 .M3 2015 v. 1-5
Find information about literary characters from ancient times through the present, including both classic and popular literature. Character information is listed by the title of the work.
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
Call Number: Ref PN 56 .S9 F47 2017
This dictionary explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we frequently encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold) and gives thousands of cross-references and quotations. It concentrates on English literature, but its entries range widely from the Bible and classical authors to the twentieth century, taking in American and European literatures.

Spanish Language Dictionaries

Where can I find them? On the Language Dictionaries shelves in the Biblical Reference Room

Call Numbers: Ref PC 4000 - PC 4999 *

* The location is shown in Yellow on the map below.

Biblical Reference Room

Highlighted Titles:

Larousse Gran Diccionario (Spanish - English)
Call Number: Ref PC 4640 .L393 2004
This in-depth reference is specially designed to make translation into or out of either language clear and easy.
Diccionario Critico Etimológico de la Lengua Castellana
Call Number: Ref PC4580 .C6 1954 v. 1-4
Diccionario de la Lengua Española
Call Number: PC 4625 .A3 1992 v. 1-2

Spanish & Latin American Literature

Want to Browse the Shelves?

Spanish Film Encyclopedia

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Spanish Language Dictionaries

Where can I find them? On the Language Dictionaries shelves in the Biblical Reference Room

Call Numbers: Ref PC 4000 - PC 4999 *

Highlighted Titles: