Henry Buhl Library: Communication Studies: Statistics & Data Sets

Statista

Statista This link opens in a new window Large database of market and consumer data from more than 22,500 sources, including reports on trends, markets, and regions as well as consumer and company insights.

Integrates over 60,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single platform. Statista provides direct access to quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

ICPSR

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Data archive of 250,000+ files of research in the social and behavioral studies from the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).
While you may be able to view some information on ICPSR -- GCC students, faculty & staff will need to create an account in order to download datasets, etc. This can be done by clicking "Log In / Create Account" on the top right.

Education Statistics

The Condition of Education
This Congressionally mandated annual report summarizes developments and trends in education using the latest available data.
more...less...
Congressionally mandated annual report summarizes developments and trends in education using the latest available data.
The Digest of Education Statistics
This annual report provides a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
more...less...
Topics in the Digest include: the number of schools and colleges; teachers; enrollments; graduates; educational attainment; finances; federal funds for education; employment and income of graduates; libraries; technology; and international comparisons
Projections of Education Statistics
This annual publication provides projections for key education statistics. It includes statistics on enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary schools, and enrollment, earned degrees conferred, and current-fund expenditures of degree-granting institutions.
more...less...
Contain data on enrollment, teachers, graduates, and expenditures for the past 14 years and future projections.
Indicators of School Crime and Safety
Annual report examines crime occurring in school as well as on the way to and from school. It provides the most current detailed statistical information to inform the Nation on the nature of crime in schools.
more...less...
The report includes data on crime at school from the perspectives of students, teachers, principals, and the general population from an array of sources
High School Dropout and Completion Rates in the United States
This series of reports on high school dropout, completion, and graduation rates began in 1988. The reports include discussions of different rates used to study how students complete or fail to complete high school.
more...less...
It presents estimates of rates and provides data about trends in dropout, completion, and on-time graduation. Depending on data availability, annual estimates are provided starting with the early 1970s.
Future Ready PA Index
The Future Ready PA Index is a collection of school progress measures related to school and student success. The Index includes a range of assessment, on-track, and readiness indicators, to more accurately report student learning, growth, and success in the classroom and beyond. Formerly the Pennsylvania School Performance Profile reporting system from the Pennsylvania Dept of Education.

Pew Research Center

Pew Research Center -- is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis, and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions.