PAL: Perspectives in American LiteratureThis site provides information on the major periods, themes, and authors of American literature, including quality bibliographies for additional research (from Paul P. Reuben, California State University, Stanislaus).
University of Virginia's E-Book Library (VIRGO)1,800 publicly-available e-books including classic British and American fiction, major authors, children's literature, the Bible, Shakespeare, American history, African-American documents, and much more. Each text on this list can be accessed in HTML (web version) for online viewing, and can be downloaded as both a MS Reader E-book for the Microsoft Reader and a Palm-readable text for the Palm Reader. The catalog is browsable by subject and title.
Specific Topics/Authors
The William Blake ArchiveAccess multiple editions of digitized works by Blake, a biography of Blake, and an extensive bibliography of resources for further study (from the Library of Congress UNC-Chapel Hill, University of Rochester, and the National Endowment for the Humanities).
The Willa Cather ArchiveRead writings, letters, and some biographies of Willa Cather through this archive. Users can also access issues of Cather Studies and use the TokenX tool to analyze Cather's work(s).
KateChopin.orgA great resource for those studying Kate Chopin and her works. Access information about characters, plot, themes, texts (when available), bibliographies, and much more (from The Kate Chopin International Society).
Dickinson Electronic ArchivesAccess correspondence by Dickinson, writings from her family, responses to her writing, a bibliography, and resources for teachers.
Emily Dickinson ArchiveAccording to the site, the "Emily Dickinson Archive makes high-resolution images of Dickinson’s surviving manuscripts available in open access, and provides readers with a website through which they can view images of manuscripts held in multiple libraries and archives."
Emily Dickinson Collection -- Amherst College Digital CollectionsThe Emily Dickinson collection includes original poems, manuscripts, and letters from Dickinson to family and friends, spanning her life from 1830 to 1886, as well as numerous rough drafts and fragments of her poems.
William Faulkner on the WebIncludes resources for the study of Faulkner and his works, including plot summaries, commentary, select bibliographies, information about Faulkner's screenplays and film adaptations of his writings, and links to other quality resources on the web.
Faulkner at Virginia: An Audio Archivelisten in on William Faulkner’s sessions with audiences at the University of Virginia in 1957 and 1958, during his two terms as UVA’s first Writer-in-Residence.
The Hemingway PapersA growing collection of columns written by Ernest Hemingway, as well as featured stories written about Hemingway, and published in the Toronto Star. All documents are available from the Toronto Star archives.
The Edgar Allen Poe Digital ArchiveThis site includes "the manuscripts of The Domain of Arnheim, The Spectacles, and some of Poe's most famous poems," as well as "correspondence, books belonging to Poe (including the author's annotated copies of several works), and a large group of sheet music for songs based on Poe's poetry."
Uncle Tom's Cabin & American Culture: a Multi-Media ArchiveAccess works on topics including Christianity, slavery, and sentimental culture written before Uncle Tom's Cabin was published. Users can also access a full-text edition of the work, access to reviews and responses to the book, and derivative works (from University of Virginia).
The Walker Percy Project"The Walker Percy Project, freely accessible to Percy students, general readers, and scholars over the web, is a comprehensive educational resource on the important late-20th century American novelist and philosopher it treats as its subject. "
The Walt Whitman Archive"an electronic research and teaching tool that sets out to make Whitman's vast work, for the first time, easily and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers."
