Search books on EBSCO Discovery
Need a book the library does not own?
You can request the book through Interlibrary Loan. Info and a downloadable form are available here!
To search for books available in other libraries, try using
WorldCat -- Search the holdings of more than 10,000 libraries to locate books and identify citation information.
OR
Library of Congress -- Access to the Library of Congress catalog and other online collections.
NOTE: Users do not need to identify a library that owns the book. Simply provide the appropriate information on the form and library staff will do the rest!
Is it a scholarly publisher?
Here are some of the scholarly publishers you'll find at Buhl Library:
eBook series of 800+ volumes covering the lives, works, and importance of writers from around the world.
Provides biography and criticism on hundreds of authors curated by world-renowned literary critic Harold Bloom.
eBook collection offering thousands of essays on major literary authors, periods, and genres.
eBook collection supporting literary studies, including the Critical Insights series focused on individual authors, works, and themes.
Full-text collection of journals, books, and reference works, as well as study guides and videos to support literary studies.
Large collection of full-text scholarly articles and books supporting research in the humanities and social sciences.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Journal articles are very specific.
Use more than one article database.
Need an article that isn't full text? Access the request form below.
Still unsure if a journal is scholarly, try Ulrich's.