Henry Buhl Library: World War I: Start your Research

Best Places to Start

Salem History Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Great Lives & Great Events Encyclopedias, which provide overviews of important events and major figures throughout history. Volumes begin with the ancient world and continue through the 20th century.

The Encyclopedia of World War I
Call Number: Ref D 510 .E53 2005 v. 1-5
Volumes 1-4 include entries on important people, places, events, and topics related to WWI. Volume 5 is comprised of primary documents related to the Great War.
World War I: the Essential Reference Guide
Call Number: Ref D 510 .W68 2016
With its authoritative reference entries, multiple introductory and perspective essays, primary source documents, detailed chronology, and bibliography, this single-volume reference provides all the key information readers need to understand this monumental conflict.
The Encyclopedia of War
Covers all aspects of war, including battles, cultures and society, key figures, strategy and tactics, and weapons across all continents and all periods of human history.
The Roots and Consequences of 20th-Century Warfare
Call Number: D 431 .T83 2016
This unique reference book introduces readers to the causes and effects of the 20th century's most significant conflicts and explains how the impact of these conflicts still resonates today.
Wars That Changed History: 50 of the World's Greatest Conflicts
Call Number: Ref D 25 .T83 2015
A thorough study of significant wars throughout history and their influence on world affairs, from ancient times into the 21st century.
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Call Number: Ref E183.7 .E52 2002 v. 1-3
General category coverage includes concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Call Number: Ref GT 507 .E53 2005 v.1-3
Entries in this encyclopedia cover people, time periods and history, countries, fabrics and other materials, footwear, jewelry, etc.
Middle East Conflicts from Ancient Egypt to the 21st Century
Call Number: Ref DS 63.15 .M53 2019 v. 1-4
This authoritative and comprehensive encyclopedia covers all the key wars, insurgencies, and battles that have occurred in the Middle East roughly between 3100 BCE and the early decades of the twenty-first century. Volume 4 consists of primary documents.

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Read biographies of presidents, military officers, secretaries of state, war correspondents and any other people who have shaped American history and culture.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Read biographies of politicians, including prime ministers, military officers, and any other people who have shaped British history and culture.
Salem History Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Great Lives & Great Events encyclopedias as well as the Decades in America series (1920's through the 2000's), and the Defining Documents series.

Chronicle of the First World War
Call Number: Ref D 523 .G634 1990 v. 1-2
Includes a day-to-day chronology of the war, including maps and tables outlining troops numbers and movements.
Wars of the Americas
Call Number: Oversz E 18.75 .M374 2008 v.1-2
This works provides a detailed chronology of the events of military conflict involving the Americas beginning in 1492 and continuing through modern times. Volume 2 begins with the American Revolution continues into the 21st century.

United States Military Academy Atlases
Includes atlases depicting individual battles from ancient times through modern Iraq.

Start with some background reading.

Otherwise, identifying books and articles will take longer.

Tip: Use the links and books on this tab to help you locate names, dates, and keywords.

Your research will be better and take less time!
Use bibliographies to locate other books and articles.
Watch out for authors and/or titles that are cited over and over; they may be important.

World War I

Best Places to Start

World War I Notes

Important Names, Dates, & Facts

Important Associated Happenings