Henry Buhl Library: HUMA 102/Biblical Studies: Find Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

In the Reference Room & Online

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Theology by Samuel E. Balentine The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Theology (OEBT) is a new encyclopedic treatment of major theological issues and themes in the Bible. While many entries address the Bible's historical context, including traditional theological perspectives on creation, sin, covenant, grace, and forgiveness, others are more rooted in modern issues, featuring biblical perspectives on contemporary concerns such as wealth and poverty, gender/race discrimination, and market economics.
Call Number: Ref BS 440 .O927 2015 v.1-2
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics by Robert L. Brawley The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics (OEBE) explores the intersection between biblical sources and ethical issues, both historical and modern, through extensive analytical and constructive treatments of a wide range of topics by leading biblical scholars and ethicists.
Call Number: Ref BS 680 .E84 O94 2015 v.1-2

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible
This encyclopedia provides a single source for authoritative reference overviews of scholarship on some of the most important topics of study in the field of biblical studies. It contains almost 120 in-depth entries, ranging in length from 500 to 10,000 words, on each of the canonical books of the Bible, major apocryphal books of the New and Old Testaments, important noncanonical texts, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation.

New Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref BX 841 .N44 2002 v. 1-15
Among the over 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.

American Religious History
Call Number: Ref BL 2525 .A4425 2021 Vol 1 - 3
The Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization, 4 Volume Set
Encyclopedia of Religious Controversies in the United States This book provides a thorough introduction to historical and contemporary issues in American religion, tackling controversial hot-button topics such as abortion, Intelligent Design, and Scientology.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church (4th ed.) Encompasses theology, churches and denominations, patristic scholarship, the Bible, the Church calendar and organization, and biographical entries of many of its leaders.

Dictionary of Biblical Imagery
Call Number: Ref BS 537 .D48 1998
The Dictionary of Biblical Imagery is the first contemporary reference work dedicated to exploring the images, symbols, motifs, metaphors, and literary patterns found in the Bible.

Oxford Reference Online Database -- Religion
Search Oxford University Press Religion Dictionaries; Handbooks & Subject Companions (Encyclopedias)

The Anchor Bible Dictionary
Call Number: Ref BS 440 .A54 1992 vol 1 - 6
International Standard Bible Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref BS 440 .I6 1979 vol 1 - 4
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible - A-C
Call Number: Ref BS 440 .N443 2006 vol 1 - 5