With this resource you'll find articles on the various genres of film, including crime films, historical films, indie films, melodrama, and screwball comedy, as well as entries for many countries and topics related to the film industry, such as dance, lighting, music, parody, radio, television, and more
Magill's Cinema Annual
Call Number: Ref PN1993.3 .M34 (2005 - date)
Covers a survey of films released during the previous year (e.g. the 2009 volume covers movies from 2008). Each entry includes a synopsis, movie tag lines, box office sales, a bibliography of that film's reviews, and awards (if any).
American Film Institute Desk Reference
Call Number: Ref PN 1994 .A599 2002
The American Film Institute Desk Reference is the most comprehensive reference book on filmmaking ever published. Providing detailed information on the world of film, its history and its personalities, this single volume is loaded with enough facts and trivia to satisfy any movie buff.
Movies in American History
by Philip C. DiMare (Editor)
Call Number: Ref PN 1993.5 .U6 M685 2011 v.1-3
"Movies in American History: An Encyclopedia" is a reference text focused on the relationship between American society and movies and filmmaking in the United States from the late 19th century through the present.
History of the American Cinema (series)
Call Number: PN 1993.5 .U6 H55 1990 v.1-10
Volumes cover the early years of film through the 1980s.
Call Number: Check HENRY for call numbers (linked here)
Includes essays discussing some of the themes of film from from the 1890s through the 1980s.
Encyclopedia of Film Noir
by Geoff Mayer; Brian McDonnell
Call Number: Ref PN 1995.9 .F54 M39 2007
Includes articles on actors, directors, and films from this genre.
Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film
by Ian Aitken (Editor)
Call Number: Ref PN 1995.9 .D6 E53 2006 v.1-3
This 3-volume work includes articles on films, directors, countries, film technology, and more. Each entry concludes with a bibliography.
Magill's Survey of Cinema -- Silent Films
by Frank N. Magill (Editor)
Call Number: Ref PN 1995.75 .M33 1982 v.1-3
Includes articles on individual films, providing as much credit information as possible. Users will also find articles on important topics and people associated with the silent era, and production company biographies.