Henry Buhl Library: HIST 337: Global Military History I: Find Primary Sources

Find Primary Sources Using HENRY

Find primary sources using HENRY.

Step 1: Use HENRY and select Advanced Search

Step 2: Enter your search term(s) in the first box; and "primary source" in the second box.

Note: You can restrict your search terms to the Title, Subject, or Author fields using the drop-downs provided.

Primary Source Collections Available through Buhl

Defining Documents in American History : Exploration & Colonial America (1492-1755)
Call Number: Ref E 187 .E96 2013 v.102
It begins with a collection of exploration and colonial documents, including important journals of exploration, reports of New World settlements, early political tracts on self-governing. Also included are narratives on colonial life and slavery and indentured servitude.
The Greenwood Library of American War Reporting. Volume 1, The French and Indian War & the Revolutionary War
This title consists chiefly of contemporary first-person and news accounts.
Understanding U. S. Military Conflicts Through Primary Sources
Call Number: Ref E 181 .U53 2016 v. 1-4
* Covers benchmark documents in U.S. diplomatic and military history from 14 conflicts.
Milestone Documents in American History
Includes important primary sources related to American history from 1763 to 2003.

The American Revolution
Call Number: E 203 .A579 2001
Drawn from letters, diaries, newspaper articles, public declarations, and other sources, this collection includes over 120 pieces by more than 70 participants who describe the major events of the War of Independence.
Defining Documents in American History : The American Revolution
Call Number: E 203 .A5727 2013 v.1-2
The American Revolution (1754-1805) chronicles key documents during the revolutionary era. Included are founding documents, speeches and political tracts, political sermons, and letters. Also included are Native American and African slave narratives.
The Revolutionary Era
Call Number: E 203 .H88 2003
Focuses on 26 pressing issues of the war and the early republic. Each issue is presented with an introductory essay and multiple primary documents from the newspapers of the day, which illustrate both sides of the debate.
The Greenwood Library of American War Reporting. Volume 1, The French and Indian War & the Revolutionary War
This title consists chiefly of contemporary first-person and news accounts.
Understanding U. S. Military Conflicts Through Primary Sources
Call Number: Ref E 181 .U53 2016 v. 1-4
* Covers benchmark documents in U.S. diplomatic and military history from 14 conflicts.
Milestone Documents in American History
Includes important primary sources related to American history from 1763 to 2003.

The Early Republic
Call Number: E 301 .E15 2004
Some of the issues discussed include: the nation's first regime change (as the Federalists lost control of the White House to the Republicans); the Louisiana Purchase; the War of 1812; slave revolts; the fear of immigrants; disunion; and the wars against the Native Americans.
Defining Documents in American History: Manifest Destiny & the New Nation
Call Number: E 338 .M25 2013 v.1-2
Includes primary documents related to Antebellum law and politics, manifest destiny, women's rights, slavery, religious expansion, and Native American land issues.
The Antebellum Era
Call Number: E 301 .D43 2003
Firsthand accounts offer students, scholars, or anyone interested in the pivotal period preceding the Civil War a look at how America's press covered important national issues and events of the day, from the passage of the Missouri Compromise through John Brown's raid on Harper's Ferry.
Understanding U. S. Military Conflicts Through Primary Sources
Call Number: Ref E 181 .U53 2016 v. 1-4
* Covers benchmark documents in U.S. diplomatic and military history from 14 conflicts.
Milestone Documents in American History
Includes important primary sources related to American history from 1763 to 2003.

Atlas of the Civil War (companion to the Records)
"The Official Records were accompanied by an extensive atlas produced by the Government Printing Office in 1895. There are 175 plates with detailed maps of events covered in the Official Records" (from Ohio State University).
The Civil War
Call Number: E 464 .C54 2004
Strong collection of annotated primary documents from the Civil War years present a wide range of opinions, North and South, on the major political and military controversies of the time.
Defining Documents in American History: Civil War (1860-1865)
Call Number: E 464 .C58 2014 v.1-2
"Surveys key documents produced during the Civil War with special attention devoted to the war-time policies of President Abraham Lincoln and the 37th US Congress. A special feature of the volumes is the inclusion of letters and diaries by soldiers and civilians writing about their experiences."
Ulysses S. Grant Digital Collection
Access to 31 volumes of The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant (from Mississippi State University).
Voices of the Civil War
Call Number: Check HENRY for Call Numbers
This series includes letters, diaries, and memoirs from Yankee and Confederate men and women written during the Civil War.
The War of the Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
Call Number: Stor E 464 .U6 1880
Also available online via Making of America (Cornell).
The Reconstruction Era
Call Number: E 668 .D545 2003
Covers the social, political, economic, physical, and constitutional changes wrought by secession and the Civil War during Reconstruction. Primary documents are included.
Understanding U. S. Military Conflicts Through Primary Sources
Call Number: Ref E 181 .U53 2016 v. 1-4
* Covers benchmark documents in U.S. diplomatic and military history from 14 conflicts.
Milestone Documents in American History
Includes important primary sources related to American history from 1763 to 2003.

Daily Life Through World History in Primary Documents
Call Number: Oversz CB 69 .D35 2008
A three-volume set of sources beginning with the ancient world and continuing through to modern times.
Defining Documents in World History: the Ancient World (2700 B. C. E. - 50 C. E. )
Call Number: DS 59 .A53 2015
Covering topics from Gilgamesh to Ancient Egypt to the Fall of Rome, this volume provides easy-to-use tools to engage, enlighten, and give students a new frame of reference to study and analyze the most important documents from Ancient History.
English Historical Documents
Call Number: Ref DA 26 .E56
This 12 volume set includes documents from British history beginning in the year 500 c.e. through 1914. These documents provide access to first-hand information about parliamentary proceedings, descriptions of people and places, correspondence, etc. Volumes 6-7 (spanning 1559-1659) are missing.
Defining Documents in World History: The 19th century (1801-1900)
Call Number: D 351 .A19 2018 v. 1-2
These volumes highlight important historical documents from Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas, including speeches, letters, manifestos and more -from influential figures during this century.
Defining Documents in World History: The Middle East (141 BCE - 2017)
Call Number: DS 62 .M54 2018 v. 1-2
This new 2-volume set spans the history of the region and includes a variety of documents from several eras.

Historic Newspapers & Primary Source Websites

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Collection of primary and early sources for American history, including historical newspapers and county and regimental histories. In particular, it contains important resources for the study of African American history, the Civil War, and American regional history (including Pennsylvania).
GALE Primary Sources (Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of The Sunday Times (London, UK : 1822-2006), and The Times (London, UK : 1785-2014), and a collection of 19th-century U.S. newspapers
The New York Times (1851-current) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of the complete run of the New York Times, including full page and article images (1851 - current)
Coverage dates: 1851-current

NOTE: Some of these sites may contain links that are no longer available.

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
Contains information and primary sources on the ancient societies of Greece, Rome, and Egypt, as well as early Christianity (from Fordham University).
Internet Medieval History Sourcebook
Contains information and primary sources on the Renaissance, the Reformation and Luther, Sex and gender, and the medieval church (from Fordham University).
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
A section of this site is dedicated to primary sources from the Scientific Revolution.
Internet African History Sourcebook
Contains information and primary sources on ancient Africa and the history of various African countries (from Fordham University).
Internet French Revolution History Sourcebook
Contains information and primary sources on the French Revolution, including the events leading to and responses to the revolution (from Fordham University).
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
Contains information and primary sources about the Islamic world from Pre-History through modern times (from Fordham University).

Attalus.org
This site provides access to primary sources from ancient Greek and Roman history.
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Includes "selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations" documenting European history from ancient through modern times (from Brigham Young University).
German History in Documents and Images
"A comprehensive collection of original historical materials documenting German history from the beginning of the early modern period to the present." Oral histories, letters, speeches and other documents related to Nazi Germany are included in the collection.
Hanover Historical Texts Project
"The Project's principal aim is to make primary texts readily available to students and faculty for use in history and humanities courses" (from Hanover College History Department).
Perseus
Contains the largest number of classical texts, fiction and non-fiction, on the web as well as a stunning number of artifact pictures (from Tufts University).

19th Century British Pamphlets
Access several collections of British pamphlets (available via JSTOR).
British Newspaper Coverage of the French Revolution
Access six newspaper articles published in the London Times and Morning Chronicle from 1792-1793. Topics include the September Massacre and the execution of Louis XVI (from University of California at Santa Barbara).
France in America = La France en Amerique
Provides access to primary sources available from these two libraries, covering the settlement of North America by the French, as well as other historical events involving France in the U.S. (from Library of Congress & the Bibliotheque Nationale de France).
French Revolution Digital Archive
"The French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community. The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française."
Gallica
Gallica is the digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France and its partners. Offers access to more than 2 million documents. Documents will be in original language.
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution
This site includes "12 topical essays, 250 images, 350 text documents, 13 songs, 13 maps, a timeline, and a glossary" (from George Mason University and City University of New York).

Duke University Libraries Digital Collections
Access diaries, letters, military registers, advertisements, and other documents from the Civil War.
Hanover Historical Texts Project
"The Project's principal aim is to make primary texts readily available to students and faculty for use in history and humanities courses" (from Hanover College History Department).
Making of America (Cornell)
Primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Making of America Books (University of Michigan)
Primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Papers of the War Department, 1784-1800
This "project, will ... mak[e] some 55,000 documents of the early War Department many long thought irretrievable but now reconstructed through a painstaking, multi-year research effort available online to scholars, students, and the general public."
US Army Education & Heritage Center
Access images, photographs, audio, motion pictures, personal papers, military publications, pamphlets, oral histories, and more from the history of the US Army. Civil and Korean War photographs are included in the collection.
U.S. Naval History & Heritage Command
Access information, biographies, digital collections, and other primary sources related to the U.S. Navy beginning with the American Revolution through the present.
Valley of the Shadow
"The Valley of the Shadow is a digital archive of primary sources that document the lives of people in Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania, during the era of the American Civil War. Here you may explore thousands of original documents that allow you to see what life was like during the Civil War for the men and women of Augusta and Franklin."
War of 1812 in the Collections of the Lilly Library
This site includes a variety of materials, such as books, maps, correspondence, log books, legal documents, diaries, and speeches.