Henry Buhl Library: HIST 144: World History II: Start your Research

Best Places to Start your Research

Salem History Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Great Lives & Great Events encyclopedias as well as the Decades in America series (1920's through the 2000's), and the Defining Documents series.
ABC-CLIO e-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
eBook collection of 400+ encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides across many research areas

Global Events Milestone Events Throughout History
Covering ancient civilizations to the present, important events in history are explored with an emphasis on their significance to overall world history.

The Timetables of History
Call Number: Ref D 11 .G78 2005
Want to know what happened during a particular year or series of years? This book lists the highlights of what happened in literature, music, philosophy, politics, etc. for each year all around the world!
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations (14th ed.)
Call Number: Ref G 63 .W67 2017
"Presents easy-to-understand information on 194 countries and dependencies from around the world."

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
13th edition (2012) -- Library has 14th edition (2017) in print, Ref G 63 .W67 2017 v.1-5. "Presents easy-to-understand information on 194 countries and dependencies from around the world."

Trouble finding somewhere to start? Try

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Online version of the print Encyclopedia Britannica enhanced with multimedia content, select magazine and journal articles, and the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.

Helpful Series

Access overviews and identify important keywords.

To find your topic in these series, follow these easy steps.

Go to Henry
Select 'Series' from the drop-down menu.
Type in one of the series listed below.

Highlighted Series:

Very Short Introductions
Greenwood Histories of the Modern Nations
Cambridge Illustrated History
Historical Dictionaries of ...
Blackwell Companions to ...

Not sure where to start?

Try thinking outside the box. Here's how.

Search for Synonyms.
How might someone else describe your topic.
Think about Geography.
Where do these events take place or what larger geographic context do the events fit into?
Look at Time Period.
Where do these events fit into history? Ancient, medieval, pre-modern, etc.
Other Related Topics.
Are there any related civilizations, people, events, etc. that may give you more insight into your own topic?

When you've read up on your topic and have a list of keywords, you can move onto Finding Books.

Additional Resources by Topic

African Kingdoms: an Encyclopedia of Empires and Civilizations
Call Number: DT 25 .A646 2017
This history-rich volume details the sociopolitical, economic, and artistic aspects of African kingdoms from the earliest times to the second half of the 19th century.
The British Empire: a Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: DA 16 .B693 2018 v. 1-2
An essential starting point for anyone wanting to learn about life in the largest empire in history, this two-volume work encapsulates the imperial experience from the 16th-21st centuries.
Encyclopedia of Invasions and Conquests
Call Number: Ref D 25 .A2 D38 2023
This new edition is a comprehensive guide to over 200 invasions, conquests, battles and occupations, from ancient times to the present.
Encyclopedia of the Atlantic World, 1400-1900: Europe, Africa, and the Americas in an Age of Exploration, Trade, and Empires
Call Number: Ref D 210 .E53 2018 v. 1-2
A first-of-its-kind reference resource traces the interactions among four Atlantic-facing continents--Europe, Africa, and the Americas (including the Caribbean)--between 1400 and 1900.
Encyclopedia of the Mexican-American War
Call Number: Ref E 404 .E53 2013 v. 1-3
Provides an in-depth examination of not only the military conflict itself, but also the impact of the war on both nations; and how this conflict was the first waged by Americans on foreign soil and served to establish critical U.S. military, political, and foreign policy precedents. The entries analyze the Mexican-American War from both the American and Mexican perspectives, in equal measure.
The Encyclopedia of World War I
Call Number: Ref D 510 .E53 2005 v. 1-5
Volumes 1-4 include entries on important people, places, events, and topics related to WWI. Volume 5 is comprised of primary documents related to the Great War.
Middle East Conflicts from Ancient Egypt to the 21st Century
Call Number: Ref DS 63.15 .M53 2019 v. 1-4
This authoritative and comprehensive encyclopedia covers all the key wars, insurgencies, and battles that have occurred in the Middle East roughly between 3100 BCE and the early decades of the twenty-first century. Volume 4 consists of primary documents.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology
Provides an exhaustive and accurate view of how and why wars were waged throughout Europe, the Byzantine Empire, and the Crusader States between 500 C.E. to 1500. Highlighted entries include: the Crusades ; Justinian I ; the Vikings
The Roots and Consequences of 20th-Century Warfare
Call Number: D 431 .T83 2016
This unique reference book introduces readers to the causes and effects of the 20th century's most significant conflicts and explains how the impact of these conflicts still resonates today.
Russia at War
Call Number: Ref DK 51 .R87 2015 v. 1-2
This easy-to-use reference explores the people and events that shaped Russian military history and impacted Europe, Asia, and the world over the past eight centuries.
Russian Revolution of 1917
Call Number: Ref DK 265 .R958 2017
Combining reference entries and examination of primary documents from the Russian Revolution, this book gives students a better understanding of how and why political forces fought to reshape the Russian empire 100 years ago--and provides keen insights into the Soviet Union that resulted.
Sea Combat: From World War I to the Present Day
Call Number: Oversz V 53 .J33 2016
Sea Combat is a comprehensive guide to how the ships, submarines and naval weapons that have been developed since the outbreak of World War I have fought their battles.
Wars That Changed History: 50 of the World's Greatest Conflicts
Call Number: Ref D 25 .T83 2015
A thorough study of significant wars throughout history and their influence on world affairs, from ancient times into the 21st century.

Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: Ref BL 31 .E46 2005 v. 1-15
This 15-volume work covers topics relating to people, beliefs, religions, and movements from around the globe and throughout history. A lengthy entry on the Reformation, including the English Reformation, is included.
Great Events in Religion: an Encyclopedia of Pivotal Events in Religious History
Call Number: Ref BL 65 .H5 G74 2016 v. 1-3
This three-volume set presents fundamental information about the most important events in world religious history as well as substantive discussions of their significance and impact.
The Ottoman Empire: a Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: DR 485 .K54 2017 v. 1-2
This two-volume reference provides university and high school students--and the general public--with a wealth of information on one of the most important empires the world has ever known.
War and Religion: an Encyclopedia of Faith and Conflict
Call Number: Ref BL 85 .W37 2017 v. 1-3
This three-volume reference provides a complete guide for readers investigating the crucial interplay between war and religion from ancient times until today, enabling a deeper understanding of the role of religious wars across cultures.

Colonial America to 1763
Call Number: Ref E 188 .P86 1999
From the first European explorations of the Americas to the coming of age of American cities in the 18th century, this volume vividly portrays the realities of daily life for those who came to the New World in search of a better life and settled a vast continent. The book provides unparalleled coverage of the economy, politics, culture, society, art, and other elements that defined colonial life.

Colonial America to 1763
Call Number: Ref E 188 .P86 1999
From the first European explorations of the Americas to the coming of age of American cities in the 18th century, this volume vividly portrays the realities of daily life for those who came to the New World in search of a better life and settled a vast continent. The book provides unparalleled coverage of the economy, politics, culture, society, art, and other elements that defined colonial life.
Daily Life in Victorian England
"An exciting, in-depth look at everyday life during the Victorian era."
Daily Lives of Civilians in Wartime Latin America
"Eight chapters written by different scholars show the the importance of the actions of civilians in wars in Latin America."
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Call Number: Ref F 1406 .E53 1996 v.1-5
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture
Call Number: Ref F 1210 .E63 1997 v.1-2
Presents a processual view of Mexican history, society and culture, from ancient civilizations to the present day.

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: Ref GT 2850 .E53 2003 v. 1-3
This three-volume encyclopedia includes entries on countries and their cuisine, time periods, foods, famous chefs, food products and processes, and more. Each entry includes a lengthy bibliography.
The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink
Call Number: Ref TX 349 .O94 2007
The entries in this work include a historical overview of American food; places; ethnic and cultural cuisines; types of food and drinks; preparing, serving, and distributing food; cookbooks, government agencies and policy; and biographies.
The Oxford Companion to Food
Call Number: Ref TX 349 .D36 2014
This single-volume work is a great place to start your research of foods, ingredients, foodborne parasites, places, time periods, religions and holidays, edible plants, and more
World Food: an Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence from Hunter-Gatherers to the Age of Globalization
Call Number: Ref TX 349 .S66 2013 v. 1-2
This two-volume work includes entries on specific foods, diets of cultures/regions, people, fads, animals, health, and more.

Encyclopedia of American Literature
Call Number: Ref PS 21 .E537 2003 v. 1-4
This four-volume set covers American literature, from the European discovery of America to the present, with entries in alphabetical order. It includes 350 substantive critical and interpretive essays on the most-studied American authors, literary masterworks, and genres or movements.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Call Number: Ref F 1406 .E53 1996 v.1-5

Encyclopedia of the Industrial Revolution in World History
Call Number: Ref HD 2324 .E546 2014 v. 1-3
In The Encyclopedia of the Industrial Revolution in World History contributors survey the Industrial Revolution as a world historical phenomenon rather than through the traditional lens of a development largely restricted to Western society.