Henry Buhl Library: Shamanism: Start your Research

Start your Research

Shamanism Resources
General Culture Resources

American Indian Religious Traditions
Call Number: Ref E 98 .R3 C755 2005 v.1-3
Combining the work of Native Americans and non-Native scholars, this reference work explores indigenous North American religions, religious practices, and rituals.
Encyclopedia of Native American Healing
This compelling volume explores the various aspects of Native American healing found cross-culturally in North America, including Canadian and Inuit cultures.
Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism
Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism focuses on "medicine" or sacred ceremonies conducted through shamans in which the power of the Creator is made manifest for all to behold.
Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures
Call Number: Ref G 63 .K874 2007
Native Peoples of the World: an Encyclopedia of Groups, Cultures, and Contemporary Issues
Call Number: Ref GN 380 .N383 2013 v. 1-3
Profiles 400 of these indigenous peoples, concentrating on historical, political, and social conditions that affect their lives today. The set is organized into three sections: groups, countries, and issues.
Shamanism
Call Number: Ref GN 475.8 .S445 2004 v.1-2
A guide to worldwide shamanism and shamanistic practices, emphasizing historical and current cultural adaptations.
The Shamanism Bible
Call Number: BL 2370 .S5 M38 2014
This guide to shamanism is an evocative and detailed journey from its animistic origins in Europe, North America, Siberia and the Arctic 70,000 years ago, to the contemporary rituals practiced today.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Online edition of 26 volume encyclopedia covering all fields of the social and behavioral sciences. Subjects covered include: aging, psychology, demography, education, gender studies, law, linguistics, public policy, sociology, urban planning, etc.

Global Road Warrior
Cultural, social, travel and business information about countries around the world.
Oxford Reference Online Database
Includes online dictionaries and encyclopedias covering culture, history, and society, such as the Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures.