Henry Buhl Library: HIST 265: History of Spain: 1469 to the Present: Start your Research

Best Places to Start your Research

Salem History Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Great Lives & Great Events Encyclopedias, which provide overviews of important events and major figures throughout history. Feature examples include the Battle of Lepanto, Spanish Civil War, Spanish-American War, Elizabeth I, Philip II, and Francisco Franco.

Encyclopedia of European Social History
Call Number: Ref HN 373 .E63 2000 v. 1-6
Includes entries on a variety of social topics, including culture, religion, everyday life, state & society, and social protest, as well as biographies of important people. Many of the articles include substantial bibliographies. Highlighted entries include: the French Revolution, Napoleon Bonaparte, and Robespierre.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Call Number: Ref CB 361 .E52 1999 v. 1-6
Covers all aspects of the Renaissance, including countries, people, events and more. Some highlighted entries include absolutism, the Counter-Reformation, England and the Reformation, the Holy Roman Empire, the Reformation, and the Wars of Religion.
The Encyclopedia of War
Covers all aspects of war, including battles, cultures and society, key figures, strategy and tactics, and weapons across all continents and all periods of human history.
Europe Since 1945
Call Number: Ref D 1051 .E9 2001 v.1-2
Europe Since 1945: An Encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference work of some 1,700 entries in two volumes. Its scope includes all of Europe and the successor states to the former Soviet Union.

Oxford Reference Online Database -- History
Search history dictionaries and encyclopedias for information about topics, people, and time periods related to archaeology, the Byzantium, the Classical world, the Enlightenment, the Reformation, military history, and more.

Colonialism: an International, Social, Cultural, and Political Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref JV 22 .C65 2003 v. 1-3
The most exhaustive reference work available on this critical subject in world history, focusing on the politics, economy, culture, and society of both colonizers and colonized. Volume 3 consists of primary documents.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Call Number: Ref GT 507 .E53 2005 v.1-3
Entries in this encyclopedia cover people, time periods and history, countries, fabrics and other materials, footwear, jewelry, etc.

Start with some background reading.

Tip: Use the links and books on this tab to help you locate names, dates, and keywords.

Your research will be better and take less time!
Use bibliographies to locate other books and articles.
Watch out for authors and/or titles that are cited over and over; they may be important.