Skip to main content
Find Books & More
"The ORIGINAL Henry Catalog"
E-books & Online Books
Videos & Audiobooks
Ebsco Discovery Search
"A-Z List of Journals"
Start your Research
Subject Research Guides (Starting Points)
Articles & Databases
Citing Sources & the Bible
Citing the Bible
ILL & Document Delivery
"The Writing Center"
Library Policies and Borrowing Info
Henry Buhl Library Blog
Library Newsletter Archive
Henry Buhl Library
Henry Buhl Library Blog
Search this website
Henry Buhl Library Blog: Blog Home
Remembering Stan Lee
by Megan Babal on
Amazing Fantastic Incredible
Stan Lee; Peter David; Colleen Doran
Call Number: Graphic Novel L515am 2015
Publication Date: 2015
In this gorgeously illustrated, full-color graphic memoir, Stan Lee--comic book legend and cocreator of Spider-Man, the X-Men, the Avengers, the Incredible Hulk, and a legion of other Marvel superheroes--shares his iconic legacy and the story of how modern comics came to be. Stan Lee is a man who needs no introduction. The most legendary name in the history of comic books, he has been the leading creative force behind Marvel Comics, and has brought to life--and into the mainstream--some of the world's best-known heroes and most infamous villains throughout his career. His stories--filled with superheroes struggling with personal hang-ups and bad guys who possessed previously unseen psychological complexity--added wit and subtlety to a field previously locked into flat portrayals of good vs. evil. Lee put the human in superhuman and in doing so, created a new mythology for the twentieth century. In this beautifully illustrated graphic memoir--illustrated by celebrated artist Colleen Doran--Lee tells the story of his life with the same inimitable wit, energy, and offbeat spirit that he brought to the world of comics. Moving from his impoverished childhood in Manhattan to his early days writing comics, through his military training films during World War II and the rise of the Marvel empire in the 1960s to the current resurgence in movies, Amazing Fantastic Incredible documents the life of a man and the legacy of an industry and career. This funny, moving, and incredibly honest memoir is a must-have for collectors and fans of comic books and graphic novels of every age.
Stan Lee and the Rise and Fall of the American Comic Book
Jordan Raphael; Tom Spurgeon
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2004
Based on interviews with Stan Lee and dozens of his colleagues and contemporaries, as well as extensive archival research, this book provides a professional history, an appreciation, and a critical exploration of the face of Marvel Comics. Recognized as a dazzling writer, a skilled editor, a relentless self-promoter, a credit hog, and a huckster, Stan Lee rose from his humble beginnings to ride the wave of the 1940s comic books boom and witness the current motion picture madness and comic industry woes. Included is a complete examination of the rise of Marvel Comics, Lee’s work in the years of postwar prosperity, and his efforts in the 1960s to revitalize the medium after it had grown stale.
Comic Book History of Comics
Ryan Dunlavey (Illustrator); Fred Van Lente
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012
For the first time ever, the inspiring, infuriating, and utterly insane story of comics, graphic novels, and manga is presented in comic book form! The award-winning Action Philosophers team of Fred Van Lente and Ryan Dunlavey turn their irreverent-but-accurate eye to the stories of Jack Kirby, R. Crumb, Harvey Kurtzman, Alan Moore, Stan Lee, Will Eisner, Fredric Wertham, Roy Lichtenstein, Art Spiegelman, HergU, Osamu Tezuka - and more! Collects Comic Book Comics #1-6.
The World Encyclopedia of Comics
Maurice Horn (Editor)
Call Number: Oversz PN6710 .W6 1976 v.1 & v.2
Publication Date: 1999
Originally published in 1976, this revised and updated edition details every major comic/comic strip, the people who worked on them, descriptions of the plots, themes, characters, their place in the history of comics and more. It also contains biographical summaries of artists and writers, a bibliography, glossary and index.
Call Number: DVD 1621
After incorporating elements of comic book style and design into many of his films, director Sam Raimi helms this straight-ahead, big-budget comic book adaptation, which also marks acclaimed young actor Tobey Maguire's first dip into live-action blockbuster filmmaking. Spider-Man follows the template of the original Stan Lee/Steve Ditko source material, with hero Peter Parker an orphaned, intellectual teen loner living in Queens with his aunt (Rosemary Harris) and uncle (Cliff Robertson), and dreaming of the girl next door, Mary Jane (Kirsten Dunst). On a field trip to a Columbia University lab, Peter is bitten by a genetically altered spider and overnight he gains superhuman strength, agility, and perception. At first, Peter uses his powers for material gain, winning a wrestling match with a purportedly lucrative prize. But when Peter apathetically fails to stop a burglar from robbing the wrestling arena, a tragedy follows that compels him to devote his powers to fighting crime -- as the superhero Spider-Man. When he's not busy fighting crime in a spider suit, Peter moves into an apartment with his best friend, Harry (James Franco), and begins work as a photographer at the Daily Bugle. Meanwhile, his do-gooder alter ego finds a nemesis in the form of the Green Goblin (Willem Dafoe), a super-powered, megalomaniacal villain who happens to be the alter ego of Harry's father, weapons-manufacturing mogul Norman Osborn. Spider-Man was written by the prolific blockbuster scribe David Koepp (Jurassic Park, Panic Room). ~ Michael Hastings, Rovi
Call Number: DVD 1622
Two years have passed, and the mild-mannered Peter Parker faces new challenges as he struggles with the gift and the curse, desperately trying to balance his dual identities as the web-slinging superhero Spider-Man and his life as a college student. Tormented by his secrets, Peter finds that his relationships with all those he holds dear are in danger of unraveling. His life-long yearning for M.J. (Kirsten Dunst) becomes even stronger as he fights the impulse to reveal his secret life and declare his love. His friendship with Harry Osborn (James Franco) is complicated by the young Osborn's bitterness over his father's death and his growing vendetta against Spider-Man. Even Peter's beloved Aunt May (Rosemary Harris), who has fallen on hard times after the death of Uncle Ben, begins to have doubts about her nephew. Peter's life is about to become even more complicated as he encounters a formidable new foe -- Dr. Otto Octavius (Alfred Molina). Peter must use all the powers at his disposal to try to stop this diabolical madman in his octagonal tracks.
Call Number: DVD 3368
Peter Parker is finally happy: he is doing well at school, girlfriend M.J. Watson loves him, and the whole city loves Spider-man, finally bestowing on him the praise he so rightly deserves. But peace may not be possible for a superhero. Harry Osborn has taken up his late father's mantle - becoming the new Goblin, bent on revenge. Uncle Ben's real killer, Flint Marko, has been transformed into the Sandman. An alien symbiote has attached itself to the spider suit, turning it black, enhancing its powers, and warping Peter's personality. When Peter finally overcomes the contaminated suit, it infects rival Bugle photographer Eddie Brock, who becomes villain Venom. In this battle Peter must conquer his personal darkness as well as Spider-Man's foes, free the compassionate hero within, and trade teenage self-absorption for adulthood.
Looking for more information about comics and illustrated books in our collection? Try these titles and subject headings.
Cartoons and Comics
Comic Books, Strips, Etc. - History and Criticism
Connecting Comics to Curriculum
Karen W. Gavigan; Mindy Tomasevich
Call Number: Theory LB1044.9.C59 G38 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Here is the essential guide for librarians and teachers who want to develop a quality, curriculum-based graphic novel collection--and use its power to engage and inform middle and high school students. * Photos of school libraries, classrooms, and students * Model template lesson plans by subject area * A list of recommended resources, such as professional books, websites and blogs * A glossary of common graphic novel terms * Bibliographies of quality classic and contemporary graphic novel titles for libraries and classrooms, broken down into middle school and high school curricular areas
Graphic Novels and Comic Books
Kat Kan (Editor); H. W. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: PN6710 .G736 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Once perceived as low-brow entertainment for children and adolescents, comic books and graphic novels have achieved widespread recognition in recent years as valuable artistic media. This book explores the origins, development, and future of these vibrant and increasingly respected modes of expression.
The Physics of Superheroes
Call Number: QC23.2 .K35 2005
Publication Date: 2005
If superheroes stepped off the comic book page or silver screen and into reality, could they actually work their wonders in a world constrained by the laws of physics? How strong would Superman have to be to leap tall buildings in a single bound? Could Storm of the X-Men possibly control the weather? And how many cheeseburgers would the Flash need to eat to be able to run at supersonic speeds?Face front, True Believer, and wonder no more! Because in The Physics of Superheroes acclaimed university professor James Kakalios shows that comic book heroes and villains get their physics right more often than you think.In this scintillating scientific survey of super powers youll learn what the physics of forces and motion can reveal about Superman's strength and the true cause of the destruction of his home planet Krypton, what villains Magneto and Electro can teach us about the nature of electricity and finally get the definitive answer about whether it was the Green Goblin or Spider-Mans webbing that killed the Wall Crawler's girlfriend Gwen Stacy in that fateful plunge from the George Washington Bridge! Along the way, The Physics of Superheroes explores everything from energy, to thermodynamics, to quantum mechanics, to solid state physics, and Kakalios relates the physics in comic books to such real-world applications as automobile airbags, microwave ovens, and transistors. Youll also see how comic books have often been ahead of science in explaining recent topics in quantum mechanics (with Kitty Pryde of the X-Men) and string theory (with the Crisis on Infinite Earths).This is the book you need to read if you ever wondered how the Invisible Woman of the Fantastic Four can see when she turns transparent, if the Atom could travel on an electron through a phone line, or if electromagnetic theory can explain how Professor X reads minds. Fun, provocative, and packed with more superheroes and superpowers than an Avengers-Justice League crossover, The Physics of Superheroes will make both comic-book fans and physicists exclaim, Excelsior! Quotes: The Physics of Superheroes is clear, rapid, funny, and endlessly informative as if Stan Lee and George Gamow had teamed up to battle the nefarious forces of ignorance.Gerard Jones, author of Men of Tomorrow: Geeks, Gangsters, and the Birth of the Comic Book Author James Kakalios is a scientific genius who could put Lex Luthor and Dr. Doom to shame. Superman should have him on retainer. I dobecause The Physics Of Superheroes is this comic-book writer's newest favorite indispensable resource.Mark Waid, writer of Spider-Man, Superman, and the Fantastic Four.
Serials to Graphic Novels
Catherine J. Golden
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
"A valuable and comprehensive survey of an enormous subject. Extremely well written and a significant addition to scholarship."--Paul Goldman, coeditor of Reading Victorian Illustration, 1855-1875: Spoils of the Lumber Room"A marvelous overview of how and why illustrations became an integral part of Victorian fiction. Golden documents a remarkable continuity from early nineteenth-century caricatures to realistic portrait-based illustrations to current graphic rewritings of familiar classics."--Martha Vicinus, author of Intimate Friends: Women Who Loved Women, 1778-1928"A capacious and synthetic work that draws on a wide variety of scholarship, a very impressive command of the history of book illustration, a huge array of visual and verbal texts, and (most important) a commitment to the genre as a genre in the history of literary and artistic form."--Peter Betjemann, author of Talking Shop: The Language of Craft in an Age of Consumption. The Victorian illustrated book came into being, flourished, and evolved during the long nineteenth century. While existing scholarship on Victorian illustrators largely centers on the realist artists of the "Sixties," this volume examines the entire lifetime of the Victorian illustrated book. Catherine Golden offers a new framework for viewing the arc of this vibrant genre, arguing that it arose from and continually built on the creative vision of the caricature-style illustrators of the 1830s. She surveys the fluidity of illustration styles across serial installments, British and American periodicals, adult and children's literature, and--more recently--graphic novels.Serials to Graphic Novels examines widely recognized illustrated texts, such as The Pickwick Papers, Oliver Twist, Alice in Wonderland, Peter Rabbit, and Trilby. Golden explores factors that contributed to the early popularity of the illustrated book--the growth of commodity culture, a rise in literacy, new printing technologies--and that ultimately created a mass market for illustrated fiction.Golden identifies present-day visual adaptations of the works of Austen, Dickens, and Trollope as well as original Neo-Victorian graphic novels like The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and Victorian-themed novels like Batman: Noël as the heirs to the Victorian illustrated book. With these adaptations and additions, the Victorian canon has been refashioned and repurposed visually for new generations of readers.
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Remembering Stan Lee
Veterans Day Resources
Election Day Resources
Hispanic Heritage Month
How are Books Organized in the Library?
Happy Library Card Day!
Happy Birthday Harry!
Today in History: Featured Resources
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
View blog archive by month and year
Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.
Oct 2, 2018 8:32 AM
Report a problem.