Henry Buhl Library: SOCW 410: Statistics

Find Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics search engine, Statista consolidates over 3 million data points on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

Explore Census Data (data.census.gov)
Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
GPO Access
GPO Access provides free online use of over 1,000 databases of Federal information in over 70 applications.

Country Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date news and data on all recognized countries of the world, offering demographic, political, economic, business, and cultural information.

Eurostat
The European Union collects a large number of statistics about its member countries.
Export.gov
Includes country commercial guides, industry overviews, market updates, multilateral development bank reports, best markets and industry/regional reports.

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics search engine, Statista consolidates over 3 million data points on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

UNdata: United Nations Common Database
Searches over 55 million UN data records.

The Condition of Education
This Congressionally mandated annual report summarizes developments and trends in education using the latest available data.
more...less...
Congressionally mandated annual report summarizes developments and trends in education using the latest available data.
The Digest of Education Statistics
This annual report provides a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
more...less...
Topics in the Digest include: the number of schools and colleges; teachers; enrollments; graduates; educational attainment; finances; federal funds for education; employment and income of graduates; libraries; technology; and international comparisons
Projections of Education Statistics
This annual publication provides projections for key education statistics. It includes statistics on enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary schools, and enrollment, earned degrees conferred, and current-fund expenditures of degree-granting institutions.
more...less...
Contain data on enrollment, teachers, graduates, and expenditures for the past 14 years and future projections.
Indicators of School Crime and Safety
Annual report examines crime occurring in school as well as on the way to and from school. It provides the most current detailed statistical information to inform the Nation on the nature of crime in schools.
more...less...
The report includes data on crime at school from the perspectives of students, teachers, principals, and the general population from an array of sources
High School Dropout and Completion Rates in the United States
This series of reports on high school dropout, completion, and graduation rates began in 1988. The reports include discussions of different rates used to study how students complete or fail to complete high school.
more...less...
It presents estimates of rates and provides data about trends in dropout, completion, and on-time graduation. Depending on data availability, annual estimates are provided starting with the early 1970s.
Future Ready PA Index
The Future Ready PA Index is a collection of school progress measures related to school and student success. The Index includes a range of assessment, on-track, and readiness indicators, to more accurately report student learning, growth, and success in the classroom and beyond. Formerly the Pennsylvania School Performance Profile reporting system from the Pennsylvania Dept of Education.

Tips for Locating Statistics

Tips for locating additional statistics.

Tip #1: Search for organizations with a vested interest in your topic.

Sometimes these organizations gather the best information and stats.
Example: the Alzheimer's Association

Tip #2: If you can't find a statistic, estimate!

For some of your topics, you may only be able to locate national, state or county statistics.
But, you can make estimates for Grove City based on the data you can find.
Example: If I am looking for the number of people in PA that suffer from asthma, I can find PA's population (12,774,000) and how many Americans have asthma (8%) to estimate a number (1,021,920).

SOCW 410

Crime Statistics

Find Statistics

Tips for Locating Statistics

Estimating Statistics example