Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Assessment Plan

Biology Department Assessments

Course BIOL 101 -- General Biology 1
IL Student Learning Outcomes

1. Students will be able to give credit to the original ideas of others through attribution and/or formal conventions.

2. Students will be able to design searches strategically, considering and selecting systems to search and evaluate search results.

3. Students will be able to identify how information systems are organized in order to access relevant information.

Type of Assessment

End-of-Semester Library Instruction Survey

Description of Assessment Survey asks students what, if any, trouble they had locating and citing their articles for their lab notebook assignment. Students are also asked what steps they took if they had any trouble and if they believe the instruction will help them locate resources for future assignments in their major(s). Results are compared with previous semester's responses and any differences are noted in the overview that is supplied to faculty.
Responsibility Library Assessment Coordinator
Distribution of Results Library Director; Provost; L & T Committee, Board of Trustees; Assistant Dean for Institutional Assessment;  BIOL Department Faculty
Assessment Schedule Every Fall Semester
Last Assessment Occurred

Fall 2019

Library instruction did not occur in Fall 2020 due to Covid-19.

Changes Made Based on Assessment Data  
Course BIOL 488 -- Seminar in Biology
IL Student Learning Outcomes

1. Students will be able to select research methodology(ies) based on need, circumstance, and type of inquiry.

2. Students will be able to demonstrate persistence, adaptability, and reflection as components of inquiry.

3. Students will be able to reflect on the search process in order to refine searches.

Type of Assessment End-of-Semester Library Instruction Survey
Description of Assessment

Survey asks students about the usefulness and timing of the instruction; which courses they has previously used library resources for; and what, if any, trouble they had locating articles for their research projects. Results are compared with previous semester's responses and any differences are noted in the overview that is supplied to faculty.

Responsibility Library Assessment Coordinator
Distribution of Results Library Director; Provost; L & T Committee, Board of Trustees; Assistant Dean for Institutional Assessment; BIOL Department Faculty
Assessment Schedule Every other Calendar Year (e.g. Spring 2015 & Fall 2015)
Last Assessment Occurred Spring 2021
Changes Made Based on Assessment Data  

Biology Department Assessments (Proposed for Fall 2021)

Course BIOL 101 -- General Biology 1
IL Student Learning Outcomes

1. Students will be able to give credit to the original ideas of others through attribution and/or formal conventions.

2. Students will be able to design searches strategically, considering and selecting systems to search and evaluate search results.

3. Students will be able to identify how information systems are organized in order to access relevant information.

Type of Assessment

End-of-Semester Library Instruction Survey

Description of Assessment Survey asks students what, if any, trouble they had locating and citing their articles for their lab notebook assignment. Students are also asked what steps they took if they had any trouble and if they believe the instruction will help them locate resources for future assignments in their major(s). Results are compared with previous semester's responses and any differences are noted in the overview that is supplied to faculty.
Responsibility Library Assessment Coordinator
Distribution of Results Library Director; Provost; L & T Committee, Board of Trustees; Assistant Dean for Institutional Assessment;  BIOL Department Faculty
Assessment Schedule Every Fall Semester
Last Assessment Occurred

Fall 2019

Library instruction did not occur in Fall 2020 due to Covid-19.

Changes Made Based on Assessment Data  
Course BIOL 488 -- Seminar in Biology
IL Student Learning Outcomes

Library instruction and assignments will focus on the following IL Student Learning Outcomes:

  1. Students will be able to select research methodology(ies) based on need, circumstance, and type of inquiry.
  2. Students will be able to demonstrate persistence, adaptability, and reflection as components of inquiry.
  3. Students will be able to reflect on the search process in order to refine searches.

IL Learning Objectives to Address this Outcome:

BIOL 488 students who complete the pre-session homework assignment and attend the session will be able to:

  1. Explain what review articles are and the benefits of using them.
  2. Use MEDLINE, Science Citation Index, or Annual Reviews to locate a review article.
  3. Use the Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Science Citation Index databases to effectively locate research articles.
  4. Use Science Citation Index to find articles using bibliographies and cited by tools.
Type of Assessment

Pre-session Homework & Article Submission Analysis

Description of Assessment

The pre-session assignment requires students to view a video describing the features and benefits of review articles and then asks them to answer a question about those benefits. The final step of the homework requires students to locate a review article and bring it to their instruction session. During the instruction session, the librarian will have the students fill out a brief form listing the title and author(s) of the article s/he located.

Learning Objective #1 “Explain what review articles are and the benefits of using them.”

  • The course librarian will follow review the students' responses to the question "According to the video, which of the following are benefits of using a review article(s)?" and do the following:
  1. Determine what percentage of students provided the correct answers to the question.

Learning Objective #2 – “Use MEDLINE, Science Citation Index, or Annual Reviews to locate a review article.”

  • The course librarian will review the article supplied by each student and do the following:
    1. Locate the article listed in each form
    2. Confirm that the article is a review article
    3. Calculate the percentage of students that submitted an article via the form.
    4. Determine what percentage of students’ article submissions are review articles.

By completing the exercise, students will demonstrate whether or not they met the learning objective listed above. Students' responses and submissions will be evaluated to determine what percentage of students met each objective with a target of 80% or better achievement. Results will be compared with previous semester's responses and any differences will be noted in the overview that is supplied to faculty.

Responsibility Library Assessment Coordinator
Distribution of Results Library Director; Provost; L & T Committee, Board of Trustees; Assistant Dean for Institutional Assessment; BIOL 488 Faculty; Biology Department Chair
Assessment Schedule Every Semester
Last Assessment Occurred Fall 2021
Changes Made Based on Assessment Data  

Education Department Assessment

Course EDUC 203 -- Culturally Relevant Pedagogy
IL Student Learning Outcomes

1. Students will be able to identify authoritative information sources based on information need.

2. Students will be able to recognize that similar content may be presented in different contexts, which may affect interpretation of the content.

3. Students will be able to select a source that best meets an information need based on the audience, context, and purpose of the content.

4. Students will be able to formulate questions for research of an appropriate scope, based on information gaps or by reexamining existing information.

Type of Assessment End-of-Semester Library Instruction Survey
Description of Assessment Survey asks students about the usefulness and timing of their library instruction; what they learned during the session; which courses they has previously used library resources for; what research problems they encountered, if any; and which assignments they used library resources for during the course. Results are compared with previous semester's responses and any differences are noted in the overview that is supplied to faculty.
Responsibility Library Assessment Coordinator
Distribution of Results Library Director; Provost; L & T Committee, Board of Trustees; Assistant Dean for Institutional Assessment; EDUC 203 Professor
Assessment Schedule Every Semester
Last Assessment Occurred Spring 2021
Changes Made Based on Assessment Data  

English Department Assessment -- Updated Fall 2020

Course ENGL 202 -- British Literature Survey II
IL Student Learning Outcomes

Library instruction and assignments will focus on the following IL Student Learning Outcomes:

  1. Students will be able to select research methodology(ies) based on need, circumstance, and type of inquiry.
  2. Students will be able to demonstrate persistence, adaptability, and reflection as components of inquiry.
  3. Students will be able to design searches strategically, considering and selecting systems to search and evaluate search results.

 

IL Learning Objectives to Address this Outcome:

ENGL 202 students who complete the pre-instruction tutorial and complete the in-class activity will be able to:

  1. Use Gale Literary Sources to find background information about a literary research topic.
  2. Identify keywords related to a search topic for literary research using Gale Literary Sources.
  3. Use the navigation tools of books (i.e. index and table of contents) to locate relevant portions of a larger piece of literary criticism.
  4. Use MLA International Bibliography database to locate literary criticism.
Type of Assessment Pre-Instruction Tutorial and In-Class Exercise
Description of Assessment

The pre-instruction tutorial introduces students to Gale Literary Sources and requires them to answer five questions. During the session, the in-class exercise calls for students to navigate through two books and search MLA International Bibliography database. Throughout the activity, students will answer questions using the navigation tools of books and the results screen from MLA International Bibliography.

Learning Objective #1 “Use Gale Literary Sources to find background information about a literary research topic.”

  • The course librarian will review the pre-instruction tutorial results of each student and do the following:
  1. Review the submissions to questions 1, 2, 4 and 5 of the Gale Literary Sources tutorial exercise and determine how many questions each student answered correctly (For questions with 2 or more parts, partial credit will be given if a student gave one correct answer, but missed one or more additional answers).
    • Correct answers will demonstrate that students were able to find background information using Gale Literary Sources.
  2. Determine what percentage of students answered 3 or more questions correctly.

Learning Objective #2 – “Identify keywords related to a search topic for literary research using Gale Literary Sources.”

  • The course librarian will review the keywords provided by each student in question 3 of the Gale Literary Sources tutorial exercise and do the following:
    1. Confirm that the terms provided are mentioned in the paragraph they are directed to in the exercise.
    2. Confirm that the terms are related to the topic of the exercise.
    3. Determine what percentage of students’ keyword submissions meet both criteria.

Learning Objective #3 – “Use the navigation tools of books (i.e. index and table of contents) to locate relevant portions of a larger piece of literary criticism.

  • The course librarian will review the answers provided by each student for the 7 questions of the book exercise and do the following:
    1. Review the submissions to questions 1-7 of the in-class book exercise and determine how many questions each student answered correctly (For questions with 2 or more parts, partial credit will be given if a student gave one correct answer, but missed one or more additional answers).
    2. Determine what percentage of students answered 5 or more questions correctly.

By completing the pre-instruction tutorial and in-class exercise, students will demonstrate whether or not they met the learning objectives listed above. Students' responses will be evaluated to determine what percentage of students met each objective with a target of 80% or better achievement. Results will be compared with previous semester's responses and any differences will be noted in the overview that is supplied to faculty.

Responsibility Library Assessment Coordinator
Distribution of Results Library Director; Provost; L & T Committee, Board of Trustees; Assistant Dean for Institutional Assessment; ENGL 202 Professor; English Department Chair
Assessment Schedule Every Spring Semester
Last Assessment Occurred Spring 2021
Changes Made Based on Assessment Data  
Course ENGL 203 -- American Literature Survey I
IL Student Learning Outcomes

Library instruction and assignments will focus on the following IL Student Learning Outcomes:

1. Students will be able to identify markers of authority recognized by disciplines, professions, and other communities of knowledge and practice.

2. Students will be able to demonstrate persistence, adaptability, and reflection as components of inquiry.

3. Students will be able to design searches strategically, considering and selecting systems to search and evaluate search results.

 

IL Learning Objectives to Address this Outcome:

ENGL 203 students who attend the instruction and complete the in-class activity will be able to:

  1. Use MLA International Bibliography database to locate scholarly/peer reviewed literary criticism.
  2. Identify search terms to find literary criticism in anthologies by using synonyms, geography, time period, genre, etc.
  3. Differentiate scholarly sources from non-scholarly ones based on four criteria.
Type of Assessment In-Class Exercise
Description of Assessment

During the ENGL 203 library instruction session, students are introduced to four criteria needed to gauge the scholarship of literary criticism. After reviewing what is needed for scholarship in terms of the author, publisher, citations, and length of the criticism, students are given a book article to evaluate. Once they have an article, students will evaluate the source by examining all four criteria and fill out a form explaining their findings for each category, whether or not the criticism is an acceptable source for their course assignment and explain how they came to that decision.

Learning Objective #3 – “Differentiate scholarly sources from non-scholarly ones based on four criteria.

  • The course librarian will review each of the forms submitted and do the following:
    1. Examine the students' responses for each category (Author, Publisher, Citations, and Length), as well as their final evaluation of the book article they used.
    2. Use a checklist rubric to determine the number of behaviors every student indicated in each of the categories.
    3. Determine how many categories met the target number of behaviors for each student.
    4. Determine what percentage of students met the target number of behaviors in 4 or more categories of the rubric.

By completing the in-class exercise, students will demonstrate whether or not they met the learning objective listed above. Students' responses will be evaluated to determine what percentage of students met the target number of behaviors in 4 or more categories with a target of 80% or better achievement. Results will be compared with previous semester's responses and any differences will be noted in the overview that is supplied to faculty.

Responsibility Library Assessment Coordinator
Distribution of Results Library Director; Provost; L & T Committee, Board of Trustees; Assistant Dean for Institutional Assessment; ENGL 203 Professor; English Department Chair
Assessment Schedule Every Fall Semester
Last Assessment Occurred Fall 2020 (initial trial)
Changes Made Based on Assessment Data In reviewing the initial forms submitted, it was noted that students did not supply enough detail about the information they considered during their evaluation. To address this, additional questions were added to the form and some of the previous questions (that had been left blank by students) were changed to required status so that students would elaborate on their judgments. (Fall 2020)

Exercise Science Department Assessments -- Updated Spring 2020

Course EXER 101 -- Introduction to Exercise Science
IL Student Learning Outcomes

Library instruction and assignments will focus on the following IL Student Learning Outcomes:

  1. Students will be able to identity markers of authority recognized by disciplines, professions, and other communities of knowledge and practice.
  2. Students will be able to select research methodology(ies) based on need, circumstance, and type of inquiry.
  3. Students will be able to design searches strategically, considering and selecting systems to search and evaluate search results.

IL Learning Objectives to Address this Outcome:

EXER 101 students who attend the session and complete the in-class activity will be able to:

  1. Differentiate peer-reviewed articles from those that are popular or scholarly.
  2. Use Ebsco Discovery to locate articles by title and author.
  3. Use SPORTDiscus to locate articles by topic that are recent, in English, full text, and peer reviewed.
  4. Locate citation information, permalink, and full-text for journal articles in Ebsco Discovery and SPORTDiscus.
 
Type of Assessment

In-class Exercise

Description of Assessment

In-class Exercise requires students to locate an article by title in Discovery, locate the appropriate permalink, and access the full-text of the article to identify the 3rd resource listed in the bibliography. The exercise also directs students to locate a full-text, peer-reviewed article in English published during the previous 5 years using the SPORTDiscus database.

Learning Objective #2 “Use Ebsco Discovery to locate articles by title and author.”

  • The course librarian will follow the permalink provided for the article each student was assigned and do the following:
  1. Determine if the link provided takes the user to the Discovery record for the article.
  2. Review the submissions to the question, “Access the full-text and visit the list of references at the end. List the TITLE of the 3rd item on the references list below” to ensure that students’ responses are correct.
    • Correct answers will demonstrate that students were able to access not just the record, but the full text.
  3. Determine what percentage of students provided the permalink to the assigned article.
  4. Determine what percentage of students provided the correct entry from the article’s references.
     

Learning Objective #3 – “Use SPORTDiscus to locate articles by topic that are recent, in English, full text, and peer reviewed.”

  • The course librarian will locate the article supplied by each student and do the following:
    1. Confirm that the article is in English
    2. Confirm that the article is available full text
    3. Confirm that the article was published within the last five years
    4. Confirm that the article is peer reviewed
    5. Determine what percentage of students’ article submissions meet all four criteria.

By completing the exercise, students will demonstrate whether or not they met the learning objective listed above. Students' responses will be evaluated to determine what percentage of students met each objective with a target of 80% or better achievement. Results will be compared with previous semester's responses and any differences will be noted in the overview that is supplied to faculty.

Responsibility Library Assessment Coordinator
Distribution of Results Library Director; Provost; L & T Committee, Board of Trustees; Assistant Dean for Institutional Assessment; EXER 101 Professors; Exercise Science Department Chair
Assessment Schedule Every other Academic Year (years beginning with even numbers [e.g. 14-15, 16-17])
Last Assessment Occurred Spring 2021
Changes Made Based on Assessment Data After reviewing the exercises submitted in Fall 2019 for the assessment trial, it was discovered that several students utilized SPORTDiscus, rather than Ebsco Discovery, to find the full text of articles by title. Because this method does not work for all articles the students will need for their coursework, the titles supplied to students were thus changed to ones that are NOT listed in SPORTDiscus; the full text is available through other databases and/or ejournals so that students have the opportunity to develop this important skill. The new titles will be utilized in Spring 2020 and compared to the initial Fall 2019 data before the assessment takes effect in Fall 2020.
Course EXER 377 -- Research Methods in Exercise Science
IL Student Learning Outcomes

Library instruction and assignments will focus on the following IL Student Learning Outcomes:

  1. Students will be able to select research methodology(ies) based on need, circumstance, and type of inquiry.
  2. Students will be able to demonstrate persistence, adaptability, and reflection as components of inquiry.
  3. Students will be able to reflect on the search process in order to refine searches.

IL Learning Objectives to Address this Outcome:

EXER 377 students who complete the pre-session homework assignment and attend the session will be able to:

  1. Explain what review articles are and the benefits of using them.
  2. Use MEDLINE, Science Citation Index, or Annual Reviews to locate a review article.
  3. Use the SportDISCUS, MEDLINE, and Science Citation Index databases to effectively locate research articles.
  4. Use Science Citation Index to find articles using bibliographies and cited by tools.
Type of Assessment

Pre-session Homework & Article Submission Analysis

Description of Assessment

The pre-session assignment requires students to view a video describing the features and benefits of review articles and then asks them to answer a question about those benefits. The final step of the homework requires students to locate a review article and bring it to their instruction session. During the instruction session, the librarian will have the students fill out a brief, anonymous form listing the title and author(s) of the article s/he located.

Learning Objective #1 “Explain what review articles are and the benefits of using them.”

  • The course librarian will follow review the students' responses to the question "According to the video, which of the following are benefits of using a review article(s)?" and do the following:
  1. Determine what percentage of students provided the correct answers to the question.

Learning Objective #2 – “Use MEDLINE, Science Citation Index, or Annual Reviews to locate a review article.”

  • The course librarian will review the article supplied by each student and do the following:
    1. Locate the article listed in each form
    2. Confirm that the article is a review article
    3. Calculate the percentage of students that submitted an article via the form.
    4. Determine what percentage of students’ article submissions are review articles.

By completing the exercise, students will demonstrate whether or not they met the learning objective listed above. Students' responses and submissions will be evaluated to determine what percentage of students met each objective with a target of 80% or better achievement. Results will be compared with previous semester's responses and any differences will be noted in the overview that is supplied to faculty.

Responsibility Library Assessment Coordinator
Distribution of Results Library Director; Provost; L & T Committee, Board of Trustees; Assistant Dean for Institutional Assessment; EXER 377 Faculty; Exercise Science Department Chair
Assessment Schedule Every Fall Semester
Last Assessment Occurred Fall 2020
Changes Made Based on Assessment Data In an effort to determine if students had trouble locating review articles or simply submitted a research article by mistake, a question was added to the article submission form asking students "did you have trouble locating a review article?" Students' responses to this questions should help us determine if research articles are submitted in error or on purpose (Fall 2020).

Management & Marketing Department Assessment -- Updated 2020

Course MNGT 214 -- Business, Ethics, & Society 
IL Student Learning Outcomes

Library instruction and assignments will focus on the following IL Student Learning Outcomes:

  1. Students will be able to identity markers of authority recognized by disciplines, professions, and other communities of knowledge and practice.
  2. Students will be able to design searches strategically, considering and selecting systems to search and evaluate search results.

IL Learning Objectives to Address this Outcome:

MNGT 214 students who attend the session and complete the in-class activity will be able to:

  1. Differentiate between academic journals, magazines, and trade publications based on given criteria.
  2. Use Business Source Premier to locate academic journal and trade publication articles.
 
Type of Assessment

Pre-session Homework Assignment and In-class Research Workshop

Description of Assessment

The pre-session homework assignment provides detailed criteria for academic journals, magazines, and trade publications. Using this information, students will need to answer 2 questions about these publications. The in-class research workshop will introduce students to searching Business Source Premier. Throughout the session students be researching their chosen topics for the semester using this database. At the end of the session, students will submit one article they located during the session and identify the type of article it is.

Learning Objective #1 “Differentiate between academic journals, magazines, and trade publications based on given criteria.”

  • The course librarian will review the pre-session homework assignments submitted each student and do the following:
  1. Review the submissions to the question, "Which of the publication types use specialized language or terminology?"
    • Determine what percentage of students provided the 2 correct answers to this question.
       
  2. Review the submissions to the question, “Which of the publication types may not cite their sources?"
    • Determine what percentage of students provided the 2 correct answers to this question.

Learning Objective #2 – “Use Business Source Premier to locate academic journal and trade publication articles.”

  • The course librarian will locate the article supplied after the in-class research workshop by every 3rd student and do the following:
    1. Confirm that the article is located in Business Source Premier
    2. Confirm that the article publication type indicated by the student is the same one indicated by Business Source Premier
    3. Determine what percentage of students’ article submissions meet both criteria.

By completing the pre-session homework assignment and attending the in-class research workshop, students will demonstrate whether or not they met the learning objectives listed above. Students' responses will be evaluated to determine what percentage of students met each objective with a target of 80% or better achievement. Results will be compared with previous semester's responses and any differences will be noted in the overview that is supplied to faculty.

Responsibility  Library Assessment Coordinator
Distribution of Results Library Director; Provost; L & T Committee, Board of Trustees; Assistant Dean for Institutional Assessment; MNGT 214 Professor; Management and Marketing Department Chair
Assessment Schedule Every Fall and Spring Semester
Last Assessment Occurred Spring 2021
Changes Made Based on Assessment Data After the Fall 2020 assessment, a number of changes were made to the pre-session assignment. First, two questions from the assignment were modified to clarify that multiple answers may be correct regarding the various publication types. The information explaining about the various publication types was also provided to students using a video, rather than a text format. Finally, the software used to provide the assignment transitioned from a Google Form to a LibWizard tutorial so that questions and content could be viewed simultaneously within the same window.