NEA's Education Issues in the Spotlight -- current topics include: No Child Left Behind, Charter Schools, Class Size, ESEA, Special Ed/IDEA, Teacher Quality, Teacher Shortage and much more!
EPE Research Center: Issues A to Z -- These pages contain brief but thorough, research-based background essays on important education issues in America today. Each page includes links to research citations, to definitions of related education terms, and to relevant stories from the Education Week and Teacher Magazine archives. You'll also find links to pertinent reports, Web sites, and organizations. Development of Issues A-Z was underwritten in part by a grant from the Pew Charitable Trusts.
Education Week on the Web -- covers local, state, and national news and issues from preschool through the 12th grade.
Current Issues in Comparative Education -- an international online, open access journal inviting diverse opinions of academics, practitioners and students. CICE shares its home with the oldest program in comparative education in the US, the Teachers College Comparative and International Education Program, founded in 1898
"Getting information off the Internet is like taking a drink from a fire hydrant." (Mitchell Kapor)
The Internet has a plethora of education information. From professional organization pages to discipline-specific pages, from theory to practical applications, there is much to enjoy and use from the Internet. Remember to evaluate the sites you find to make sure enthusiasm and fancy artwork haven't overtaken best practices in education.
Yahoo Kids -- the web guide for kids. Sites have been carefully checked by experienced educators to ensure the content and links are appropriate for kids aged 7-12. ALSO includes links for homework help!
EduHound.com-- a highly specialized educational directory with built-in resource links offered free to educators, students and parents. Also includes Lesson Plans that meet state & national standards, site sets (topic based resources) and clipart!
PBS Teachers -- includes standards based lesson plans, multimedia resources & professional development for America's preK-12 educators.
Discovery School -- the "School Resources" page at Discovery.com. FREE access to puzzle makers, clip art & lesson plans! Links to Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators (useful websites for enhancing curriculum and professional growth.)
What Works Clearinghouse (U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences) -- collects, screens, and identifies studies of effectiveness of educational interventions (programs, products, practices, and policies).
Teachable Moment -- offers teaching ideas, lesson plans, essays for discussion and suggestions for guiding young people as they deal with social conflict in the world.
U.S. Department of Education
-- including eric.ed.gov -- free access to the ERIC database
Pennsylvania Department of Education
Listing of State Education Agencys from ed.gov
Education Resource Organizations Directory -- The Directory is intended to help you identify and contact organizations that provide information and assistance on a broad range of education-related topics.