Henry Buhl Library: ENGL 224 -- Arthurian Legend in Literature: Home

Best Places to Start

Best Place to Start your Research

Gale Literary Sources
Search Dictionary of Literary Biography, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Online from one convenient search box!

Or search these titles individually here

Twayne's Authors Series (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Author-focused volumes of literary criticism offering in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres. (Gale Literature)
Scribner Writer Series (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
The Scribner’s Writers Series includes biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 authors from around the world.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Signed essays written by scholars provide essential context for understanding the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and from all parts of the world.

Encyclopedias & Databases

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Signed essays written by scholars provide essential context for understanding the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and from all parts of the world.

Oxford Reference Online Database -- Literature
Access to a collection of online dictionaries and encyclopedias related to literature.
Oxford Companion to English Literature
Extensive coverage of writers, works, literary theory, allusions, and characters.

Scribner Writer Series (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
The Scribner’s Writers Series includes biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 authors from around the world.
Twayne's Authors Series (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Author-focused volumes of literary criticism offering in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres. (Gale Literature)

Literary Histories

Oxford History of English Literature -- The books in this series provide valuable context for understanding literature in its place and time, including the political and social climate.

(See HENRY for call numbers)

Cambridge Histories -- Includes volumes on 14 subject areas, including British History and English Literature. Here are some of the highlighted titles:

Cambridge History of English Literature
These volumes examine English writing from the Restoration through the end of the 18th century, as well as twentieth-century, English literature.