Henry Buhl Library: French Literature: Find Author Information

Find Books & eBooks

In the Reference Room

The Dante Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref PQ 4333 .D36 2000
Provides entries and further references and information about Dante, his works, and his world, including names, places, and other important topics.
World Authors
Call Number: Ref PN 451 .W673 1996
Provides almost 2700 articles on twentieth-century authors from all over the world who wrote in English or whose works are available in English translation.

Search for author as the Subject.

When your topic is the author, they become the subject (see below).

Search the Notes field.

Searches the table of contents of anthologies of literature and criticism.

Screengrab of Henry Advanced Search of Charles Baudelaire as the Subject.

Need a book the library does not own?

You can request the book through Interlibrary Loan. Info and a downloadable form are available here!

To search for books available in other libraries, try using

WorldCat -- Search the holdings of more than 10,000 libraries to locate books and identify citation information.

Library of Congress -- Access to the Library of Congress catalog and other online collections.

NOTE: Users do not need to identify a library that owns the book. Simply provide the appropriate information on the form and library staff will do the rest!

eBook Collections & Databases

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Signed essays written by scholars provide essential context for understanding the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and from all parts of the world.
Twayne's Authors Series (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
In addition to providing American, British, and world literary criticism, each title includes a chapter or more about the life of the author.

Ebsco E-Books
Access to over 200,000 full text eBooks across a variety of subjects.

Salem Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Contains "the Critical Insights" series, which focuses on an individual author’s entire body of work or on a single work of literature. Each book includes a small biography.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, and the Biography Index which includes full-text articles, page images, and abstracts.