Digital Sheet Music Collection -- The University of South Carolina's very own Digital Sheet Music Collection. It contains over 4,000 pieces of public domain classical, popular, and sacred music from the 19th and early 20th centuries. The music is located in the Music Library's Special Collections department.
Digital Sheet Music Consortium -- Digitized sheet music in the public domain (prior to 1923). Consortium members include UCLA, Indiana University, Johns Hopkins University, and the Library of Congress, among several others.
American Memory from the Library of Congress -- Includes scanned sheet music from the turn of the century, concert programs and ephemera
California Sheet Music Project, UC Berkeley -- A virtual library of some 2,000 pieces of sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900, together with related materials such as a San Francisco publisher's catalog of 1872, programs, songsheets, advertisements, and photographs. Images of every printed page of sheet music have been scanned at 400 dpi, in color where indicated.
Center for Popular Music, Middle Tennessee State University -- The Center for Popular Music is an archive & research center devoted to the study of American popular music from the pre-revolutionary era to the present.
Digitized Opera & Musical Theatre Scores -- Nearly 100 opera and musical theater scores from UIUC have been digitized. Represented in the collection are the works of composers such as Victor Herbert, John Philip Sousa, and Gilbert & Sullivan.
Folk Song Index -- An index to traditional folk songs of the world with an emphasis on English-language songs. Each entry includes the song title, first line of chorus, first line of verse, and a citation.
J.S. Bach's Church Cantatas -- Scanned images of Bach Church Cantatas.
G. F. Handel's Complete Works -- From the Munich Digitisation Centre.
W. A. Mozart's Complete Works -- Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use.
STEP 1: To locate all of the scores available at Buhl Library, try searching the catalog, HENRY, for the term Scores as a Subject, or simply search for our largest series of scores, Dover Miniature Scores, which are great for analysis.
Tip: If you want to limit your search by composer, use our Advanced Search option in HENRY and couple the subject Scores with the composer's name as an Author.
STEP 2: If you don't find the score you need in HENRY, try: IMSLP ~ Petrucci Music Library -- IMSLP offers access to sheet music that no longer has any copyright restrictions. Most of the music available was published prior to 1923.
IF: HENRY and IMDBP don't have the score you need, try searching WorldCat.org, the world's largest network of library content. Search for music scores and sound recordings. Items located through WorldCat can then be made available to you through Interlibrary Loan. Forms are available online