Henry Buhl Library: Communication Studies: Encyclopedias & Reference Databases

Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of Communication The International Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods was retired in 2018. No new content has been added since December 2015. As such, however, this resource is still considered the definitive reference source in this interdisciplinary and dynamic field. This authoritative work is jointly published with the International Communication Association (ICA), the leading academic association of the discipline.
more...less...
Includes coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Editorial areas include communication theory and philosophy, interpersonal communication, journalism, intercultural and intergroup communication, media effects, strategic communication/PR, communication and media law and policy, media systems in the world, and communication and technology.
International Encyclopedia of Digital Communication and Society
Browse by topic: Commercial Applications/ICT4D/Law & Policy/Online Gaming and Social Media.
It addresses a full range of topics including digitally-mediated social media, commercial applications and online gaming, to law and policy analysis and information and communication technologies for development.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Online edition of 26 volume encyclopedia covering all fields of the social and behavioral sciences. Subjects covered include: aging, psychology, demography, education, gender studies, law, linguistics, public policy, sociology, urban planning, etc.
International Encyclopedia of Media Studies
"This landmark Encyclopedia brings together over 175 critical essays to redraw the boundaries of this rapidly evolving and dynamically complex area. Global in scope, wide-ranging in its inclusion of topics, and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars, this is the definitive resource for the field."
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media
Contains essays on "issues such as human rights media, indigenous peoples' media, and environmentalist media, and on key concepts widely used in the field such as alternative media, citizens' media, and community media."
Encyclopedia of Research Design
A collection of entries covering how to plan and conduct empirical research, including the use of both quantitative and qualitative methods.
Social History of the American Family: An Encyclopedia
Chronicles the social, cultural, economic, and political aspects of American families from the colonial period to the present. Key themes include families and culture (including mass media), families and religion, families and the economy, families and social issues, families and social stratification and conflict, family structures (including marriage and divorce, gender roles, parenting and children, and mixed and non-modal family forms), and family law and policy.

Issues

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
Provides overviews, background, outlook, and other perspectives on hundreds of controversial issues affecting the US and world today.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is a complete source for in-depth, non-biased analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Each ‘issues’ examines a single “hot” current event or issue, with historical background and includes a discussion of the current controversies and initiatives. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.