This Encyclopedia offers an indispensable reference guide to twentieth-century fiction in the English-language. With nearly 500 contributors and over one million words, it is the most comprehensive and authoritative reference guide to twentieth-century fiction in the English language.
The Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies brings together the most wide-ranging and up-to-date scholarship ever assembled on the colonial, postcolonial and neo-colonial condition, covering the period from 1492 to the present.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
by Roland Greene; Clare Cavanagh; Stephen Cushman; Jahan Ramazani; Paul Rouzer
Call Number: Ref PN 1021 .N39 2012
This work is considered "the most comprehensive and authoritative reference for students, scholars, and poets on all aspects of its subject: history, movements, genres, prosody, rhetorical devices, critical terms, and more."
The new fourth edition of The Critical Survey of Drama contains over 650 new and updated essays--over 550 discuss individual dramatists and nearly 100 cover important overview topics that are critical to the study of drama as a whole.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama
Call Number: Ref PN 1625 .M3 1984
Includes articles on important dramatists from around the world, as well as articles on specific national dramas.
Folktales and Fairy Tales: Traditions and Texts from Around the World
Call Number: Ref GR 74 .F65 2016 v. 1-4
Encyclopedic in its coverage, this one-of-a-kind reference is ideal for students, scholars, and others who need reliable, up-to-date information on folk and fairy tales, past and present.
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
by Michael Ferber
Call Number: Ref PN 56 .S9 F47 2017
This dictionary explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we frequently encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold) and gives thousands of cross-references and quotations. It concentrates on English literature, but its entries range widely from the Bible and classical authors to the twentieth century, taking in American and European literatures.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD) includes over 6,000 entries on a range of topics, and monthly updates with new and revised content. It covers a range of subjects including art, literature, philosophy, law, mythology, and science. It also provides details of daily life and cultural trends.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world --- with its beginnings over 150 years ago.
Literature Dictionaries & Encyclopedias -- By Language/Region
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
by Daniel Balderston (Editor); Mike Gonzalez (Editor)
Call Number: Ref PQ 7081 .A1 E558 2003
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
Literary Cultures of Latin America
by Mario J. Valdes (Editor); Djelal Kadir (Editor)
Call Number: Ref PQ 7081 .A1 L525 2004 v. 1-3
Comprised of signed articles each with complete bibliographies, this unique reference also takes into account relevant political, anthropological, economic, geographic, historical, demographic, and sociological research in order to understand the full context of each community's literature.
Provides an introduction to the literature composed in Spanish. This linguistically based (rather than nationally defined) understanding of Spanish literature transcends genres, time periods, and political boundaries.
Entries include biographies, literary movements and time periods, topics in literature, and more.
Encyclopedia of German Literature
by Matthias Konzett (Editor)
Call Number: Ref PT 91 .E53 2000 v. 1-2
The Indiana Companion to Traditional Chinese Literature
Call Number: Ref PL 2264 .L5 I53 1986 v.1-2
This "two-volume title stands alone as THE standard reference work for the study of traditional Chinese literature. Nothing like it has ever been published." -- Choice