This is the leading, full-scale comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers to appear in English in more than half a century. Written by a team of more than 550 experts and now widely translated, it contains approximately 5,000 entries ranging from short definitions to longer articles.
Now, eminent philosopher Simon Blackburn offers the most authoritative and up-to-date dictionary of philosophy available in a single volume, packed with helpful information for the novice and with astute observations for the expert.
The Oxford Companion to the Mind, edited by Richard L. Gregory, is a classic. Published in 1987, to huge acclaim, it immediately took its place as the indispensable guide to the mysteries - and idiosyncracies - of the human mind.
The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics is a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts—from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD) includes over 6,000 entries on a range of topics, and monthly updates with new and revised content. It covers a range of subjects including art, literature, philosophy, law, mythology, and science. It also provides details of daily life and cultural trends.
Covers topics in bioethics, including "the human biome, genetically modified foods, emergency preparedness and response, social justice, sustainability, chemical warfare and torture, among many others."
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics
by Ruth Chadwick (Editor-In-Chief); Dan Callahan (Editor); Peter Singer (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BJ 63 .E44 2012 v. 1-4
International Encyclopedia of Ethics
Call Number: Ref BJ .I58 2013 v.1-9
The International Encyclopedia of Ethics is the definitive single-source reference work on Ethics. Provides clear definitions and explanations of all areas of ethics including the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in Normative Ethics, Metaethics, and Practical Ethics. Covers the major philosophical and religious traditions.
Pocket Dictionary of Ethics
by Stanley J. Grenz; Jay T. Smith
This portion of the Cambridge Histories database includes volumes from Late Antiquity, the Early Medieval, Medieval and Later Medieval periods, the Renaissance, the 17th and 18th centuries, and the period covering WWI and WWII.
The volumes include topics such as logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of religion, as well as explorations of these themes.
History of Philosophy
Call Number: B 72 .C623 1946 v.1-9
History of Greek Philosophy
Call Number: B 171 .G83 1962 v.1-6
History of Western Philosophy
Call Number: B 72 .M32 1963 v.1-5
Philosophy in the Twentieth Century
Call Number: B 804 .B36 1962 v.1-4 (Closed Stacks)
World Religions Online explores religion and spirituality in an objective manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the elaborate rituals of today. Topic Centers feature specially selected content on 15 of the world’s religions and traditional spiritual practices, quickly guiding users to information on important topics, spiritual leaders, sacred texts, and holy days and festivals. Includes videos and slideshows to sacred texts, sacred music, primary sources, a calendar of holidays and observances, and more.