Skip to main content

Online Resources Newsletter

 

 Buhl Library Online Resources Newsletter Vol. 3 April 6, 2020

As we navigate a new normal within our campus community we want you to know that Buhl Library is here to support you whether you're working in your office in HAL or 1,000 miles away across the country. You will have the same professional service and support you received while on-campus as you do virtually. This weekly newsletter will serve as a resource to our campus community to highlight digital resources available through the library and on the web to hopefully make this difficult time just a little bit easier. Don't hesitate to reach out to us if you need help with anything.

  Library Updates During COVID-19

We have a dedicated webpage available for updates and policy changes in the constantly changing environment of COVID-19. You can find it here. It is also linked on our webpage and MyGCC

 Subject Guides

Not sure where to start with research for your class or assignment? Our subject guides are a great place to start. They include resources specific to your class or assignment. Check out all of our guides listed by department here

 Naxos Music Library

Baby Network Sticker for iOS & Android | GIPHY

Studies show that classical music can help you with focus and memory while studying or working. It can even help you relax and reduce stress levels. Did you know we have a database of free classical music? Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 143,000 CDs with more than 2,223,000 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 600 new CDs are added to the library every month. There are playlists by instrument, TV/film, mood, composer and more. You'll also find biographical information about composers and historical resources. 

You can also listen from your phone. Naxos has an app that works on IOS and Android. Learn more and troubleshoot here

If you're more of a Jazz fan, we have Naxos Jazz, too! 

Helpful Troubleshooting Tips: If you have several tabs on your browser open to Naxos it could crash. If you're experiencing problems using it while on your computer please double check to see if you have Naxos open in more than one tab or browser window. If you have questions about using Naxos, please contact us

 De-stress Resources Part II 

 by: Megan Babal

Below is a collection of links to resources that I've discovered this week for perspective on our current situation or as a way to de-stress. Some are serious and insightful, others are lighthearted to provide a smile or laugh. I've enjoyed turning to them this week and I hope you do too. 

If you've never read any of Gladwell's books and the wait list for his newest one is long through your local library you can read his other books on the Internet Archive's Open Library for free. They're all fascinating and great reads. 

 We Miss you too!  

We asked our Instagram followers what they miss most about Buhl Library last week. We shared that we miss seeing our students. Here's what some of them had to say: 

  • All the books!
  • The quietness! It was my favorite place to study.
  • Doing homework on the second floor stacks!
  • Seeing the people who work there and getting the chance to be productive.
  • Seeing my professors walk through and say hi! 

You can join the conversation on our Instagram account here. Find the story in our highlights section and let us know what you miss about the library. 

 New University Press eBooks

Cornell Open - An NEH-funded initiative
 
Cornell Open is a global open access portal for both new and classic out-of-print titles from the distinguished catalog of Cornell University Press. Funded by the Humanities Open Book Program, a collaborative effort between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
 
This resource has been added to our collection of free online resources. You can view the entire list here.

 Kopernio: Full-Text PDF Finder

 

Break free from redirects, logins and paywalls when looking for full-text PDF articles. Try Kopernio, a free browser plugin that works across 20,000 academic platforms including Google Scholar, PubMed and Web of Science. See how it works below!

 

Kopernio works seamlessly in the databases Web of Science, Social Science Citation Index and Pubmed. It's also perfect when searching Google Scholar. This browser extension currently works in Chrome, Firefox and Opera. To download and get started, visit this helpful guide. Here's more information on the databases that utilize this tool:

If you need any help using Kopernio or have any questions, we're happy to answer them. If you're looking for other ways to help make your research easier, contact us! We love to share the tools, tips and tricks that can save you precious time and headaches while you're working remotely. 

 Online Instruction Resources 

For instructors looking for some resources and guidance during this time for teaching a class online we have some resources in our collection to assist you. Don't forget about the great resources offered through the Department of Online Studies too. 

 Free Philadelphia Library Card 

Free Library of Philadelphia

Did you know PA residents have access to all of the Philadelphia Free Library's online eBooks and audiobooks? Signing up takes less than a minute and you get immediate access to a great collection of online resources. Use the link below to sign-up. If you need help getting started using Overdrive or Libby to read or listen on your devices please use their FAQ section. You can also contact Buhl Librarian Megan with any questions or if you need help. 

 #HomeTogetherResources  

 

paPAFA-logo-color-gradient.jpg

You might have seen #hometogether trending on social media these past few weeks as communities are locked down and are required to stay home except for essential travel. This leads to a lot of people limited to their homes, lots of time together and trying to find activities to do to keep everyone occupied to prevent boredom can be challenging. The PA Parent and Family Alliance has put together a guide for all ages to give you some ideas. 

You can filter the resources by type, interest or age group. Select filter and from the drop-down box select audience and from the drop-down box that appears you can see all of the categories. Select the category (you can select more than one) and your results will be displayed below. Have fun browsing the list and I hope this helps you find some new, fun activities to do together!