Find Literary Criticism -- BooksFind Literary Criticism -- Journal ArticlesFind Literary Criticism -- Websites
This is the "Home" page of the "ENGL 290 -- Arthurian Legend in Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 290 -- Arthurian Legend in Literature   Tags: arthur, camelot, grail, holy, legend, merlin  

Use this guide to identify research tools and strategies for the study of Arthurian legend throughout literature and film.
Last Updated: Mar 13, 2013 URL: http://hbl.gcc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=319942 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Arthurian Legend in Literature

The King (Arthur) (From a Connecticut Yankee In King Arthur's Court) Artist Unknown Painting Details: 1889 - illustration - Newberry Library, Chicago, Illinois, USA

 

Videos

The library owns the following videos that students may borrow for 3 days:

Camelot
Call Number: DVD 1184

Excalibur
Call Number: DVD 1418

 

What Do You Need To Find?

A Literary Work?

  • Use the tab above: Finding Literary Works
  • Get tips for locating works of literature in HENRY, as well as library databases and websites that offer full-text access to works of British literature.

Literary Criticism?

  • Use the tab above: Find Literary Criticism
  • Identify sources and strategies for locating literary criticism in library resources and online.

Cite Your Sources?

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

  • The Arthurian Encyclopedia
    Call Number: Ref DA 152.5 .A7 A78 1986

    The entries in this encyclopedia cover characters, history, various world literatures, and important places in Arthurian legend. Bibliographies are included with each entry.
  • Oxford Reference Online Database -- Literature
    Access to a collection of online dictionaries and encyclopedias related to literature.
  • Oxford Companion to English Literature
    Extensive coverage of writers, works, literary theory, allusions, and characters.
 

Literary Histories

Oxford History of English Literature -- The books in this series provide valuable context for understanding literature in its place and time, including the political and social climate.

(See HENRY for call numbers)

Cambridge Histories -- Includes volumes on 14 subject areas, including British History and English Literature. Here are some of the highlighted titles:

Cambridge History of English Literature
These volumes examine English writing from the Restoration through the end of the 18th century, as well as twentieth-century, English literature.

Cambridge History of American Literature
This eight-volume set includes essays on poetry, prose, and literary criticism from 1590 through the late twentieth-century. (8 volumes)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip