This is the "Voting and Elections Home" page of the "Voting and Elections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Voting and Elections   Tags: elections, poli sci, political science, presidential elections, voting  

Use this guide to locate information on the upcoming U.S. Presidential election and state and local voting and election info as well!
Last Updated: Nov 9, 2012 URL: http://hbl.gcc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=270541 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Voting and Elections Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Stanford Election Atlas

Stanford Election Atlas maps votes, polling place by polling place for the 2008 Presidential Election  ---  A new interactive atlas from Stanford University's Spatial Social Science Lab.  The exhaustive study reveals how deep-rooted geographic trends still affect party affiliation.

 

Congressional Record

Congressional Record -- Provides users with the ability to search and access the full-text of the Congressional Record (1873 to date), as well as its forerunners, the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873). It is an indispensable resource for political science, American history, and legal studies.

Coverage: 1789 -- Present


To search the Congressional Record:

  • Click the link available here or listed above.

  • Under Limit to:, decide which Congressional publication(s) you wish to search and deselect any others.

  • You can then limit your search by date, Congress, keyword and/or subject.

 

Links of Interest

Project Vote Smart --  Non-partisan information on U.S. federal and state candidates, ballot measures, issues and legislation as well as information on campaign finances, issue positions, performance evaluations, & voting records

Opensecrets.org --   "The Center for Responsive Politics describes itself as 'a non-partisan, non-profit research group based in Washington, D.C. that tracks money in politics, and its effect on elections and public policy.'  Opensecrets.org, the Center's Web site, provides information from the Federal Election Commission about campaign contributions to Congress, to the political parties and the presidential campaigns.  The mission statement, contact information, and funding sources are clearly noted. Opensecrets.org is a goldmine of data on contributions in politics, helpful both for students writing papers and for avid followers of politics."

Stateline.org -- If you are tracking campaign finance reform efforts in states around the county, this is a good place to start. Each day, summaries of newspaper articles about reform efforts in various states are posted.

Real Clear Politics --  is an independent, non-partisan media company that is the trusted source for the best news, analysis and commentary.  It aims to cover all aspects of the U.S. political process including policy, elections and government.

Gallup Poll's Election 2012--  Here you can:  Read Gallup's latest news articles on everything election-related;  View and sort weekly data on GOP contenders' images, including recognition and Positive Intensity Scores;  Export graphs and full trend data on GOP contenders and get regular updates on GOP ballot support and the generic ballot for president

Of Special Interest:

Voting America:  United States Politics 1840 - 2008 (University of Richmond) -- This site "examines the evolution of presidential politics in the United States across the span of American history. The project offers a wide spectrum of cinematic visualizations of how Americans voted in presidential elections at the county level." View interactive maps, static maps for individual elections (popular vote by state and county, margin of victory, and other factors), and listen to video commentaries accompany selected maps

Presidential Elections and the Electoral College: The Proceedings of the Electoral Commission of 1877 (Congressional Record - Volume 5, Part 4) -- (Library of Congress American Memory Special Presentation)

U.S. Electoral College -- (National Archives & Records Administration)  --- Includes historical election results, voting resources, who the electors are and how they voted and other voting resources.

Federal Election Commission (FEC) -- administers and enforces the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA)

American Presidency Project -- "documents from U.S. presidents from 1789 to the present. Includes inaugural addresses, press briefings, signing statements, and debates. Also features data on topics such as popularity and number of public appearances, election results back to 1828, and an archive of audio and video clips. A collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara."

In the Reference Room & Online ...

America Votes --  Ref JK 1967 .A8  v. 1 - current
   ~~~America Votes  includes official, state-certified election returns and key data by county and by district for the House, Senate, and gubernatorial elections

  • CQ Voting & Elections Collection  Icon
    National and state election coverage, voter demographics and campaign finance.
  • CQ Weekly  Icon
    Covers virtually every act of Congress, provides nonpartisan news and analysis.
 

patchwork.org

Explore the Patchwork Nation

Track the political pulse of the country through the lens of nine Congressional district types. Explore an interactive map, read community blogs and more.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip