American Literature

Instruction Librarian
Kim Marks
Reference/Instruction Librarian
Office: Library -- Room 205
Email: ksmarks@gcc.edu
724.450.1532
What Do You Need To Find?
Author Information?
- Use the tab above: Find Author Information
- Information about world authors can be found using HENRY, in library databases and on the web.
A Literary Work?
- Use the tab above: Finding Literary Works
- Get tips for locating works of literature in HENRY, as well as library databases and websites that offer full-text access to literary works from around the globe.
Literary Criticism?
- Use the tab above: Find Literary Criticism
- Identify sources and strategies for locating literary criticism in library resources and online.
Cite Your Sources?
- Look here for help Citing your sources using MLA.
- Librarians can help you cite correctly.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Oxford Reference Online Database -- LiteratureAccess to a collection of online dictionaries and encyclopedias related to literature.
- Oxford English DictionaryThe history and meaning of English words.
- Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia of American LiteratureCall Number: Ref PS 21 .B46 1991
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American LiteratureCall Number: Ref PS 21 .E537 2003 v.1-4
- Encyclopedia of the NovelCall Number: Ref PN 41 .E487 1998
Want to Browse the Shelves?
The Library of Congress section for
American Literature is
PS
Literary Histories
Literary History of the United States --
Ref PS 88 .L522 1974
Cambridge Histories -- Includes volumes on 14 subject areas, including British History and English Literature. Here are some of the highlighted titles:
Cambridge History of American Literature
This eight-volume set includes essays on poetry, prose, and literary criticism from 1590 through the late twentieth-century. (8 volumes)
Cambridge History of the American Novel
According to the publisher, "this ambitious literary history traces the American novel from its emergence in the late eighteenth century to its diverse incarnations in the multi-ethnic, multi-media culture of the present day." Classics, as well as the science fiction and mystery novel genres are discussed. (1 volume)
Cambridge History of African American Literature
This volume "presents a comprehensive overview of the literary traditions, oral and print, of African-descended peoples in the United States." Four hundred years of writing are discussed. (1 volume)


Loading...
