Evaluate Websites
This is the "Starting Points: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias" page of the "MATH 488 -- Seminar in Mathematics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MATH 488 -- Seminar in Mathematics   Tags: mathematics  

Use the resources on this guide to locate biographical sources, dictionaries, encyclopedias, books, articles, and websites focused on the study of mathematics.
Last Updated: Jan 31, 2013 URL: http://hbl.gcc.libguides.com/math488 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Starting Points: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Librarian's Research Tips:

Start with some background reading. While it is tempting to start your research by identifying available books and/or journal articles, this process will be very time-consuming if you have not read up on your topic.

Use some of the reference resources recommended on this guide to help you locate the works of mathematicians, as well as important keywords and terms. Using this strategy, research is often better and takes less time!

 
After you have completed your background reading and developed a good list of keywords,
you are ready to move onto the next step: Find Books.

 

Mathematics & Science Encyclopedias

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Call Number: Ref Q 121 .M3 2012 v.1-20

History of Modern Science and Mathematics
Call Number: Ref Q 125 .H6298 2002 v.1-4

Biographical Information

  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
    Biographies of deceased persons who have shaped British history and culture.
  • American National Biography
    Biographies of deceased persons who have shaped American history and culture.
  • Salem History Online
    Full-text access to the Great Lives & Great Events encyclopedias as well as the Encyclopedia of American Business, Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society and the Decades in America series (20's through the 90's).
  • Dictionary of Scientific Biography
    Call Number: Ref Q 141 .D5 1981 v.1-16
  • Biographical Dictionary of Mathematicians
    Call Number: Ref QA 28 .B534 1991 v.1-4
  • Notable Mathematicians : From Ancient Times to the Present
    Call Number: Ref QA 28 .N66 1998
  • Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science
    Call Number: Ref Q 141 .B5285 2000 v.1-2
  • Biographies of Women Mathematicians
    Access biographical information on women mathematicians from ancient times through the present (from Agnes Scott College).
  • The MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive
    A valuable resource including biographies of mathematicians, mathematics history topics, and more(from University of St. Andrews, Scotland).
  • Biography Reference Center  
      
    Offers a comprehensive collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.
 

Dictionaries

Use these resources to locate definitions:

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics
Call Number: Ref QA 5 .C53 1996

Mathematics Dictionary
Call Number: Ref QA 5 .J33 1992

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Mathematics
Call Number: Ref QA 5 .M425 1997

The Words of Mathematics : An Etymological Dictionary of Mathematical Terms Used in English
Call Number: Ref QA 5 .S375 1994


The American Heritage Science Dictionary
Call Number: Ref Q 123 .A5178 2005

 

MATH 488

 

 

Instruction Librarian

 

Kim Marks
Reference/Instruction Librarian
Office: Library -- Room 205
Email: ksmarks@gcc.edu
724.450.1532

My Reference Hours

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip