Evaluating BooksEvaluating Journal ArticlesEvaluating Websites
This is the "Starting your Research: Tools & Tips" page of the "EXER 311 -- Chronic Disease and Obesity" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EXER 311 -- Chronic Disease and Obesity   Tags: exercise science; health  

Use this guide to locate sources and research tips for the study of chronic disease and obesity.
Last Updated: Mar 1, 2013 URL: http://hbl.gcc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=251145 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Starting your Research: Tools & Tips Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Librarian's Research Tips:

Start with some background reading. While it is tempting to start your research by identifying available research articles, this process will be very time-consuming if you have not read up on your topic.

Use some of the resources on this tab to help you locate review articles on your topic. Review articles are a great starting point, as they provide:

  • important keywords and terms
  • a timeline of existing research, 
  • great bibliographies of previous research,
  • the names of important authors on that area of scientific research.

Using this strategy, your search for information will result in a more thorough examination of the literature in less time!

 
After you have completed your background reading and developed a good list of keywords, you are ready to move onto finding Research Articles.

Health Background Information

  • Salem Health Online
    Full-text access to the following subject encyclopedias: Psychology & Mental Health, Genetics, Infectious Diseases & Conditions, Magill's Medical Guide, 6th edition and Complementary & Alternative Medicine.
  • National Institutes of Health
    Access quality health information, including symptoms and treatment(s), from respected medical organizations.
  • Mayo Clinic -- Health Information
    Access overviews of dozens of medical conditions, including their causes, symptoms, treatments, and home/lifestyle remedies.
  • Eating Disorders: an Encyclopedia of Causes, Treatment, and Prevention
    Articles in this book cover all aspects of eating disorders, including related topics such as exercise and activities, body image and self-esteem, therapies, and more.

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews offer "comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists" in a variety of disciplines, including:

Article Databases & Online Portals for Locating Review Articles

Use the limiting options of these article databases to locate review articles:

  • MEDLINE
    Provides authoritative medical information related to medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
  • PubMed Central (PMC)
    This is the open access portal for all government funded research publications after six months.
  • Biological Abstracts
    A complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally.
  • ScienceDirect College Edition - Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection
    Access to peer-reviewed journals in the fields of biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering, medicine, physics, and more.
  • Science Citation Index
    Access to cited references and author abstracts.
 

EXER 311

 

Instruction Librarian

 

Kim Marks
Reference/Instruction Librarian
Office: Library -- Room 205
Email: ksmarks@gcc.edu
724.450.1532

My Reference Hours

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip