Selecting a Topic
Looking for an interesting research topic?
Try browsing the Table of Contents of recent issues of well-known, peer-reviewed biology, biochemistry, and/or other related science journals.
Here are a few journals to get you started:
Article Databases & Online Portals for Locating Review Articles
Use the limiting options of these article databases to locate review articles:
- Biological AbstractsA complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally.
- MEDLINEProvides authoritative medical information related to medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
- PubMed Central (PMC)This is the open access portal for all government funded research publications after six months.
- ScienceDirect College Edition - Health & Life Sciences Journal CollectionAccess to peer-reviewed journals in the fields of biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering, medicine, physics, and more.
- Science Citation IndexAccess to cited references and author abstracts.
- Web of Science (or Web of Knowledge)Access to the databases Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index.
Librarian's Research Tips:
Start with some background reading. While it is tempting to start your research by identifying available research articles, this process will be very time-consuming if you have not read up on your topic.
Use some of the resources on this tab to help you locate review articles on your topic. Review articles are a great starting point, as they provide:
- important keywords and terms
- a timeline of existing research,
- great bibliographies of previous research,
- the names of important authors on that area of scientific research.
Using this strategy, your search for information will result in a more thorough examination of the literature in less time!
After you have completed your background reading and developed a good list of keywords, you are ready to move onto finding Research Articles.
Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews offer "comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists" in a variety of disciplines, including:
BIOL 488

Instruction Librarian
Kim Marks
Reference/Instruction Librarian
Office: Library -- Room 205
Email: ksmarks@gcc.edu
724.450.1532

Loading...
