British Literature

Instruction Librarian
Kim Marks
Reference/Instruction Librarian
Office: Library -- Room 205
Email: ksmarks@gcc.edu
724.450.1532
What Do You Need To Find?
Author Information?
- Use the tab above: Find Author Information
- Information about British Authors can be found using HENRY, in library databases and on the web.
A Literary Work?
- Use the tab above: Finding Literary Works
- Get tips for locating works of literature in HENRY, as well as library databases and websites that offer full-text access to works of British literature.
Literary Criticism?
- Use the tab above: Find Literary Criticism
- Identify sources and strategies for locating literary criticism in library resources and online.
Cite Your Sources?
- Look here for help Citing your sources using MLA.
- Librarians can help you cite correctly.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Oxford Reference Online Database -- LiteratureAccess to a collection of online dictionaries and encyclopedias related to literature.
- Oxford English DictionaryThe history and meaning of English words.
- Oxford Companion to English LiteratureExtensive coverage of writers, works, literary theory, allusions, and characters.
- British Literature of World War IThis five-volume work covers a variety of literature from the WWI era, including short stories, novellas, and drama.
Call Number: Ref PR 830 .W65 B75 2011
Want to Browse the Shelves?
The Library of Congress section for
English Literature is
PR
Literary Histories
Oxford History of English Literature -- The books in this series provide valuable context for understanding literature in its place and time, including the political and social climate.
(See HENRY for call numbers)
Cambridge Histories -- Includes volumes on 14 subject areas, including British History and English Literature. Here are some of the highlighted titles:
Cambridge History of Early Modern English Literature
Provides perspectives on English literature between the Reformation and the Restoration.
Cambridge History of English Literature
These volumes examine English writing from the Restoration through the end of the 18th century, as well as twentieth-century, English literature.
Cambridge History of English Poetry
This volume "offers sparklingly fresh and dynamic readings of an extraordinary range of poets and poems from Beowulf to Alice Oswald."
Cambridge History of English Romantic Literature
According to the publisher, "this History presents an engaging account of six decades of literary production around the turn of the nineteenth century."
Cambridge History of Victorian Literature
Call Number: PR 461 .C364 2012
According to the publisher, this work uses "well-known scholars [to] introduce readers to their particular fields, discuss influential critical debates and offer illuminating contextual detail to situate authors and works in their wider cultural and historical contexts. Sections on publishing and readership and a chronological survey of major literary developments between 1837 and 1901, are followed by essays on topics including sexuality, sensation, cityscapes, melodrama, epic and economics. Victorian writing is placed in its complex relation to the Empire, Europe and America, as well as to Britain's component nations. The final chapters consider how Victorian literature, and the period as a whole, influenced twentieth-century writers."


Loading...
