Use this page to locate online newspaper databases, historical newspapers and local paper links!
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2007) with Index (1851-1993)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2007)
Access the Harper's Archive, 1850 - present. Full text availability.
- Historical Newspapers Online
Access newspapers beginning in the 1800s and continuing beyond the year 2000. The links available here provide access to local, regional, and specialized newspapers from all over the U.S., listed by state (Penn Libraries -- University of Pennsylvania).
Chronicling America -- Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities & the Library of Congress.
- Proquest National Newspapers Expanded
This database provides access to 12 full-text major newspapers, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and Washington Post, as well as USA Today, the Chicago Tribune, and the Boston Globe.
Years of coverage vary by publication, with most titles beginning in the mid- to late 1980s and continuing through to the present. New York Times coverage includes the entire archive, beginning in 1851 and continuing through the present.
- Newspaper Source
Provides full-text access to many local newspapers across the U.S., including the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, Philadelphia Inquirer, and the Boston Globe
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text of more than 1,000 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world. More than 300 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters as well as hard-to-find broadcast transcripts from major television stations and radio networks. Non-English language news sources available in Spanish, French, German, Italian and Dutch, including both newspapers and magazines.
New!! You can search 3 historical newspapers at the same time using Artemis Primary Sources!
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers -- contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
- (New!!) The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006 -- Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large. Murder, theatre, sport and politics - all collide in its pages in an abundance of glorious narrative detail. In more than 800,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.
- (New!!) The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2009 -- First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.