Containing over 200 entries written by scholars working in various disciplines both in the United States and in China, this two-volume resource provides current, accurate, and useful information on the politics, economics, society, and culture of both the People's Republic and Taiwan since 1949.
Full-text access to the Great Lives & Great Events encyclopedias as well as the Encyclopedia of American Business, Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society, Decades in America series (1920's through the 2000's), and the Defining Documents series.
"A description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world" (from the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress).
A comprehensive collection of primary and secondary sources provide direct insight into the social history of societies ranging from the Australian Aborigines all the way to 21st-century China. This database supports coursework and research in history, literature, cultural studies, and more with its focus on cross-disciplinary historical topics such as work, religion, language, art, food and cooking, clothing, housing, and social customs.
The titles in this series provide introductions to topics including geography, the arts, communication, transportation, exploration, society, economics, politics, law, the military, leisure, daily life, family, religion, philosophy, science, and technology. Each volume includes chronologies, topical articles, and biographies.
Bibliographies of both primary and secondary sources are included.
This title presents an up-to-date comprehensive treatment of Chinese literature from classical times to the present.
The Indiana Companion to Traditional Chinese Literature
Call Number: Ref PL 2264 .L5 I53 1986 v.1-2
This "two-volume title stands alone as THE standard reference work for the study of traditional Chinese literature. Nothing like it has ever been published." -- Choice
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: Ref BL 31 .E46 2005 v. 1-15
This 15-volume work covers topics relating to people, beliefs, religions, and movements from around the globe and throughout history.
A lengthy entry on the Reformation, including the English Reformation, is included. The entry concludes with a substantial bibliography.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Call Number: Ref BL 80.3 .W67 2006 v.1-3
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices presents detailed information on current religious practices around the world, with an emphasis on how religion impacts the daily lives of its followers. Entries cover everything from central doctrines and sacred texts to dietary customs and significant holidays.
Use this source to locate the following information about countries around the world: geography, people, economy, communication, transportation, military, transnational issues, and government. Government information includes constitutions, national holidays, political parties and leaders, and more.
Consists of the online equivalent of the printed Encyclopedia Britannica plus numerous supplementary resources, including the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, select magazine and journal articles, thousands of photographs and illustrations, and links to additional websites reviewed by the Britannica editors.
Online version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.