All You Need to Know about the Music Business
All You Need to Know About the Music Business has been universally regarded as the definitive guide to the music industry. Now in its ninth edition, this latest edition leads novices and experts alike through the crucial, up-to-the-minute information on the industry's major changes in response to today's rapid technological advances and uncertain economy.
Climbing the Charts: What Radio Airplay Tells Us About the Diffusion of Innovation
Climbing the Charts examines how songs rise, or fail to rise, up the radio airplay charts. Looking at the relationships between record labels, tastemakers, and the public, Gabriel Rossman develops a clear picture of the roles of key players and the gatekeeping mechanisms in the commercial music industry.
The Economics of the Popular Music Industry
This Palgrave Pivot uses modeling from microeconomic theory and industrial organization to demonstrate how consumers and producers have responded to major changes in the music industry.
The Music Industry
Music Money and Success: the Insider's Guide to Making Money in the Music Business
Music, Money and Success: The Insider's Guide to Making Money in the Music Business is the industry bible and the ultimate guide to making money in the music business.
Networked Music Cultures: Contemporary Approaches, Emerging Issues
This collection presents a range of essays on contemporary music distribution and consumption patterns and practices. The contributors to the collection use a variety of theoretical and methodological approaches, discussing the consequences and effects of the digital distribution of music as it is manifested in specific cultural contexts.
Popular Music as Promotion: Music and Branding in the Digital Age
Leslie M. Meier examines key consequences of shifting business models, marketing strategies, and the new common sense in the music industries: the gatekeeping and colonization of popular music by brands.
Rock Brands: Selling Sound in a Media Saturated Culture
Rock Brands: Selling Sound in a Media Saturated Culture, edited by Elizabeth Barfoot Christian, is an edited collection that explores how different genres of popular music are branded and marketed today.
Selling Digital Music, Formatting Culture
Selling Digital Music, Formatting Culture documents the transition of recorded music on CDs to music as digital files on computers. More than two decades after the first digital music files began circulating in online archives and playing through new software media players, we have yet to fully internalize the cultural and aesthetic consequences of these shifts. Tracing the emergence of what Jeremy Wade Morris calls the "digital music commodity," Selling Digital Music, Formatting Culture considers how a conflicted assemblage of technologies, users, and industries helped reformat popular music's meanings and uses. Through case studies of five key technologies--Winamp, metadata, Napster, iTunes, and cloud computing--this book explores how music listeners gradually came to understand computers and digital files as suitable replacements for their stereos and CD. Morris connects industrial production, popular culture, technology, and commerce in a narrative involving the aesthetics of music and computers, and the labor of producers and everyday users, as well as the value that listeners make and take from digital objects and cultural goods. Above all, Selling Digital Music, Formatting Culture is a sounding out of music's encounters with the interfaces, metadata, and algorithms of digital culture and of why the shifting form of the music commodity matters for the music and other media we love.
Selling Sounds: the Commercial Revolution in American Music
From Tin Pan Alley to grand opera, player pianos to race records, this book explores the rise of music as big business and the creation of the modern musical soundscape.
This Business of Music: the Definitive Guide to the Music Industry
An authoritative reference to the legal, economic and financial aspects of the ultra-competitive music industry, this 9th edition features coverage on the legal implications of MP3, international cooperation in anti-bootlegging initiatives, the death and rebirth of Napster, secure copyright digital initiatives problems and achievements and more. It also includes an updated directory of websites for music business information and research sources.
Tracking the Audience: the Ratings Industry from Analog to Digital
In Tracking the Audience: The Ratings Industry From Analog to Digital, author Karen Buzzard examines the key economic, political, and competitive factors that have influenced ratings methods dominant in each of the markets for radio, TV, and the Internet, tracing the practice's history from its early beginnings up to its most recent advances.
What They'll Never Tell You about the Music Business: the Myths, the Secrets, the Lies (& a Few Truths)
An inside guide to the music business, this volume aims to disclose the hidden dynamics of the industry. It explores what really happens when a deal is prepared, contracts are signed and promises are made - and alerts musicians, attorneys, songwriters and anyone else interested in the business to the potent dangers lurking beneath the surface of the industry.
Digital Selling: How to Use Social Media and the Web to Generate Leads and Sell More
Digital Selling makes sense of the new paradigms in which a salesperson now operates. It outlines the new strategies required to make the most of the plentiful opportunities that exist, and provides the practical advice salespeople need to use the social web effectively, generate leads and sell more.
The Fusion Marketing Bible: Fuse Traditional Media, Social Media, and Digital Media to Maximize Marketing
Turbocharge your marketing efforts with the powerful FUSE! strategy The Fusion Media Marketing Bible explains how to pinpoint the most effective elements of your traditional marketing efforts and combine them with social media and digital marketing to reach more customers than ever, while spending less money.
Mobile Marketing: How Mobile Technology is Revolutionizing Marketing, Communications, and Advertising
Mobile Marketing provides an in-depth hardware and software review of mobile technology - including mobile platforms, app development, social media and location-based services - and information on how to exploit the software to boost marketing, communications and advertising strategies.
The New Rules of Marketing and PR: How to Use Social Media, Online Video, Mobile Applications, Blogs, News Releases, and Viral Marketing to Reach Buyers Directly
The benchmark guide to marketing and PR, updated with the latest social media and marketing trends, tools, and real-world examples of success.
Pioneers of Digital: Success Stories from Leaders in Advertising, Marketing, Search, and Social Media
Pioneers of Digital showcases the stories behind key people who have fundamentally influenced the way advertising, marketing, search and social media have evolved during the internet era.
Record Label Marketing: How Music Companies Brand and Market Artists in the Digital Era
Record Label Marketing, Third Edition is the essential resource to help you understand how recorded music is professionally marketed.
Social Media Strategy: Marketing and Advertising in the Consumer Revolution
Social Media Strategy is your guide to practicing marketing, advertising, and public relations in a world of social media-empowered consumers.
Taking down Goliath: Digital Marketing Strategies for Beating Competitors with 100 Times your Spending Power
Advances in software, auction-based media, analytics, and big data have made it possible for the average marketer to compete with marketers with 100 times the spending power. Taking Down Goliath profiles the ways in which digital marketing can level the playing field, if you know how to use it.
Understanding Digital Marketing
Gain essential grounding in SEO, email marketing, social media, content marketing, performance marketing and much more, with this practical and essential guide to digital marketing.
Encyclopedia of Public Relations
Media Relations Guidebook: Navigating the Changing Media Landscape
Rethinking Reputation: How PR Trumps Marketing and Advertising in the New Media World
In Rethinking Reputation, public relations guru Fraser Seitel and John Doorley, founder of the Academy for Communication Excellence and Leadership at Johnson & Johnson, examine a fascinating new set of case studies-including the BP oil spill and the launch of CitySlips-to glean the PR dos and don'ts for the new media world, covering both standard reputation maintenance and crisis management.