Skip to main content

Library Assessment Plan

Data Policy Overview

Due to the variety of assessment types, software products, and confidentiality requirements, Buhl Library stores and provides access to data in different ways. An overview of our data storage, data access & reporting procedures, and confidentiality policies are listed below for each type of assessment data the library collects.

Patron Data

Data Storage

Buhl Library utilizes a Library Management System (LMS), Library.Solution that runs the library's catalog, circulation system, and cataloging module. The circulation system keeps track of all items currently checked out to patrons and only the last three borrowers of an item, in case of damage. No long-term borrowing information is maintained (i.e. we do not keep records of all items checked out by a patron).

 

Data Access & Reporting Procedures

Patron information is available only to the patron and library staff. Patrons must present ID cards, another form of identification, or contact the library via phone or email to request any changes or information regarding their account.

 

Confidentiality

Patron information is kept confidential. Permanent library staff can view full contact information, when needed. Student library staff are only provided with access to the portions of Library.Solution to allow for check-outs, renewals, and placing holds. The Student Employee Handbook includes a section for employees explaining our confidentiality policy regarding patron information. Sharing confidential information is grounds for dismissal from Buhl Library's employment.

Student Employee Data

Data Storage

The Student Employee Coordinator and Library Training Staff maintain records of employment, including applications, student worker reviews, emails, hours worked, letters of recommendation, and other necessary documentation of current and former student employees. These records are maintained on the library's server, on the College's email server, and/or filed in the Student Employee Coordinator's Office.

 

Data Access & Reporting

Access and reporting of Student Employee data is restricted. Permanent library staff, as well as GCC Financial Services and the Financial Aid Office, are provided with access to this information as appropriate and only when necessary.

 

Confidentiality

Student Employee information is kept confidential. Student Employee data may be released for the purposes of graduate school applications, internship opportunities, job applications, background checks, and the like, but only at the request and/or expressed consent of the employee.

Usage, Circulation, & Cost Data

Data Storage

Statistics on print & eBook circulation, InterLibrary Loan (ILL) requests, database & eJournal usage, e-Reserve & document delivery cost, and LibGuide/webpage usage are maintained on the library's server. Statistics are gathered in the aggregate (i.e. individual users are not identified), with the exception of ILL requests.

 

Data Access & Reporting Procedures

Data is accessible to all permanent library staff and other interested parties by request. Data is regularly reported to the Provost and Library & Technology Committee of the Board of Trustees, when appropriate. Highlights from the data are also shared with the Admissions Office and used in library marketing materials.

 

Confidentiality

Most of our usage, circulation, and cost data does not identify individual users so confidentiality is not an issue. ILL requests, however, require confidentiality because these records do include the names of individual patrons. ILL requests are utilized by the Interlibrary Loan Coordinator for processing and statistical purposes, as well as the Library Director for collection development. Any other access to ILL information is limited to library staff conducting their regular duties. Any reporting of ILL requests is only provided in the aggregate.

Survey Data

Data Storage

Survey data includes all non-information literacy surveys and feedback, including the Suggestion Box, Library Open House feedback, Student Employee surveys, and any other general library surveys. All survey forms are maintained within Google Forms, LibSurveys, and/or Select Survey which are password protected. Aggregated survey results are downloaded and maintained on the library's server.

 

Data Access & Reporting Procedures

Aggregated survey/feedback data is provided to the Library Director, Provost, L& T Committee of the Board of Trustees, and the Assistant Dean of Institutional Assessment. Individual responses are not shared.

 

Confidentiality

All individual survey/feedback responses remain confidential. Only aggregated data is reported to the constituents listed above. No individual patrons will be identified.

Library Space Data

Data Storage

Library Space data includes responses from flip charts and photo study images. All data is stored on the library's server.

 

Data Access & Reporting Procedures

Access to Library Space data is limited to library personnel, the VP of Operations, the Provost, Academic Deans, and members of the L & T Committee of the Board of Trustees. Other constituents, such as architects, may have access to data by request when relevant to a project.

 

Confidentiality

Data from the photo studies and flip charts is kept confidential. Individual patrons can inadvertently be identified in photo studies, so these photos are used for data and decision-making only. Photos and flip chart comments are never used for marketing purposes.

Information Literacy Data

Data Storage

WRIT 101 assessment includes the use of two library assignments provided via Google Forms, as well as two grading rubrics and a worksheet that will be turned in. Major-specific course surveys are conducted using a Select Survey or Google Forms. Individual assignments and survey forms are maintained within Google Forms and/or Select Survey which are password protected. Aggregated assignment and survey results are downloaded and maintained on the library's server.

Any worksheets submitted in print will be scanned and saved to the library's server or stored in the Assessment Coordinator's Office. All aggregated data will be stored permanently, but individual assignments may be discarded after one year.

 

Data Access & Reporting Procedures

Aggregated information literacy assessment data is provided to the Library Director, Provost, L& T Committee of the Board of Trustees, Course Professor, Department Chair, and the Assistant Dean of Institutional Assessment. Individual responses are not shared.

 

Confidentiality

All individual survey responses remain confidential. Only aggregated data is reported to the constituents listed above. WRIT 101 Assignments include student names, but all assessment results will be reported in the aggregate. No individual students will be identified.

Outreach / Engagement Data

Data Storage

Outreach data includes reports from Issuu.com, Facebook, and Twitter, as well as Library Open House feedback (surveys) and attendance counts. Issuu.com, Facebook, and Twitter keep track of the number of users, likes, shares, clicks, etc. Each of these sites requires a password to access usage reports. On the occasion a report is downloaded by the Outreach Services Librarian, the data will be maintained on the library's server.

See Survey Data box for full details on Library Open House feedback data storage, access, and confidentiality.

 

Data Access & Reporting Procedures

Aggregated usage data will be gathered by the Outreach Services Librarian and provided to the Library Director and other library staff, as necessary. Data, such as the number or percentage of new followers, may be used in marketing materials. No individuals or information that could identify an individual user will be shared.

 

Confidentiality

The data provided by Issuu.com does not identify any individual users, so confidentiality is not an issue. Comments, likes, and shares on Facebook and Twitter will identify individual users if they have used their real names. If, however, a patron is identified (such as in a comment), the patron will not be identified in any reports, marketing materials, etc. without his/her consent.