Henry Buhl Library: Writing 101: Essay 2

Discovery

Discovery
This search tool allows users to search and access Books & eBooks; academic journal, magazine, & newspaper articles; and much more!

Pro/Con Resources

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news covering areas such as health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, and more.
Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
Provides overviews, background, outlook, and other perspectives on hundreds of controversial issues affecting the US and world today.

ProCon.org
Promoting critical thinking on controversial issues. Researching hotly debated topics and presenting sourced pros and cons, facts, and expert opinions to encourage nonpartisan education and informed citizenship.

eBook Resources

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 200,000 eBooks across all subject areas, allowing limited printing and chapter saving and for many titles temporary downloads for offline reading.

eBooks & Online Books page
Provides access to thousands of eBooks and online books. Use the tabs at the top to locate eBooks by discipline.

U.S Constitution Resources

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Ref KF 4548 .E53 2000 v.1-6

Encyclopedias and Legal Dictionaries

Debating Issues in American Education

Debating Issues in American Education

This issues-based reference set on education in the United States tackles broad, contentious topics that have prompted debate and discussion within the education community.

The volumes focus on pre-school through secondary education and explore prominent and perennially important debates.

Each link below is a different volume:

Education Resources

Routledge Encyclopaedia of Educational Thinkers
Call Number: Ref LA 2301 .R68 2016
ISBN: 9781138826144
The Routledge Encyclopaedia of Educational Thinkers comprises 128 essays by leading scholars analyzing the most important, influential, innovative and interesting thinkers on education of all time. Each of the chronologically arranged entries explores why a particular thinker is significant for those who study education and explores the social, historical and political contexts in which the thinker worked. Ranging from Confucius and Montessori to Dewey and Edward de Bono, the entries form concise, accessible summaries of the greatest or most influential educational thinkers of past and present times.

Journal & Newspaper Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Research database supporting all areas of academic study covering 8,500+ popular and scholarly periodicals, including 3000+ with full text.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of 400+ US and international newspapers including the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette and Philadelphia Inquirer, plus select television and radio news coverage.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to several important US newspapers back to 1980, including The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune