NOTE: These resources have been organized by subject to make finding quality information easier.
Use of e-books is restricted by licensing agreements to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff of Grove City College. These resources are only available from the GCC campus network. Click here for more information.
The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics is a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts—from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD) includes over 6,000 entries on a range of topics, and monthly updates with new and revised content. It covers a range of subjects including art, literature, philosophy, law, mythology, and science. It also provides details of daily life and cultural trends.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts (OEBART) is an in-depth, comprehensive reference work that covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts.
First published in 1990, The Encyclopedia of Popular Music is the largest project ever undertaken on the subject. This authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present (now located in Oxford Reference Online Database).
The Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics, written with the student, the performer and the music lover in mind. Fully cross-searchable, each volume provides a carefully structured series of specially-commissioned essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material as well as absorbing reading matter.