Use of e-books is restricted by licensing agreements to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff of Grove City College. These resources are only available from the GCC campus network. Click herefor more information.
Searchable by Subject, A-Z listing of entries as well as includes a "Reader's Guide" which allows for browsing through thematic categories. Key Themes include accountability, diversity, public policy, religion and religious education, school types, special needs and technology.
This issues-based reference set on education in the United States tackles broad, contentious topics that have prompted debate and discussion within the education community.
The volumes focus on pre-school through secondary education and explore prominent and perennially important debates. Topics for the ten volumes are: Alternative Schooling & School Choice, Curriculum & Instruction, Diversity in Schools, Religion in Schools, School Discipline & Safety, School Finance, School Governance, School Law, Standards & Accountability in Schools, and Technology in Schools.
Covers the full spectrum of diversity issues, including race, class, gender, religion, language, exceptionality, and the global dimensions of diversity as they relate to education in the United States and worldwide.
Also in print: REF LC 1099 .E53 2012 v.1-4
Online edition of 26 volume encyclopedia covering all fields of the social and behavioral sciences. Subjects covered include: aging, psychology, demography, education, gender studies, law, linguistics, public policy, sociology, urban planning, etc.
This 4 volume encyclopedia is designed to aid an understanding of Asian American influences on American life, as well as the impact of American society on reshaping Asian American identities and social structures over time. Includes a core collection of primary documents and key demographic and social science data provide historical context and key information
Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity is the first encyclopedia to reflect the changes in the mission of human services professionals as they face today's increasingly diverse service population. Diversity encompasses a broad range of human differences, including differences in ability and disability, age, education level, ethnicity, gender, geographic origin, religion, sexual orientation, socioeconomic class, and values.
Key Themes: Children and Youth Services; Community Development; Cultural Competence in Human Services; Culture-Specific Services; Family Services; Hospitals, Health Care, and Cultural Competence; International Cultural Competence; Legislation and Regulations; Mental and Behavioral Health Services; Organizations, Programs, Government Agencies and Departments; Race and Ethnicity; Regional Cultural Competence; Socioeconomic Status and Cultural Competence
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
This work includes 23 new ethnic groups and contains 152 revised ethnic entries on specific minority groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish.
"This comprehensive title is among the first to extensively use newly released 2010 U.S. Census data to examine multiculturalism today and tomorrow in America." The encyclopedia includes "more than 900 signed entries not just providing a compilation of specific ethnic groups and their histories but also covering the full spectrum of issues flowing from the increasingly multicultural canvas that is America today."
Also available in print: Ref E 184 .A1 M8145 2013
This book discussions current issues in education, ranging from equity, diversity, and poverty to multiple intelligences, assessments, standarized tests, and more. A chronology, documents, and bibliography are included (from ABC-CLIO).
Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia provides coverage of important public health concerns. Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.
This book examines the unexplored field of applying social change to civic engagement in an effort to enlarge public welfare activities. It covers such topics as civic education, sustainable development, and child labor, citizen services, poverty reduction, rural development, and social media.
Discusses the Great Recession (2007-2009) in America, including what happened, its effects, how poverty is measured, government reactions, longstanding impacts, society's response, and what we can do to address poverty. Primary documents and recommended resources are included.
This multi-disciplinary encyclopedia covers curricular subjects related to divorce, both in the U.S. and globally, as examined by disciplines ranging from marriage and the family to anthropology, social and legal history, developmental and clinical psychology, and religion, all through a lens of cultural sociology. Appendices provide further annotated sources of data and statistics.
Chronicles the social, cultural, economic, and political aspects of American families from the colonial period to the present. Key themes include families and culture (including mass media), families and religion, families and the economy, families and social issues, families and social stratification and conflict, family structures (including marriage and divorce, gender roles, parenting and children, and mixed and non-modal family forms), and family law and policy.
This handbook provides users with a great introduction to a variety of religious faiths and cultures and their impact on education. Protestant, Catholic, Jewish, Islamic, and Orthodox Schools, and the issues that surround them, are addressed (from ABC-CLIO).
In these A-Z volumes, readers can learn about methodologies and assessment strategies; get information about sectors, such as community media and media activism; and explore areas of study, such as journalism, advertising, and political communications. The rapid evolution of media systems, particularly digital media, is emphasized, and writings by notable media literacy scholars are included.
Examines information on leveraging the power of technology to support teaching and learning. While using innovative technology to educate individuals is certainly not a new topic, how it is approached, adapted, and used toward the services of achieving real gains in student performance is extremely pertinent. This two-volume encyclopedia explores such issues, focusing on core topics and issues that will retain relevance in the face of perpetually evolving devices, services, and specific techniques. As technology evolves and becomes even more low-cost, easy-to-use, and more accessible, the education sector will evolve alongside it. For instance, issues surrounding reasoning behind how one study has shown students retain information better in traditional print formats are a topic explored within the pages of this new encyclopedia.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty, 2nd Edition addresses the persistence of poverty across the globe while updating and expanding the landmark first edition, originally published in 2006 prior to the economic calamities of 2008.
The SAGE Reference Series on Disability is a cross-disciplinary and issues-based series which incorporates links from varied fields making up disability studies.
The eight volumes in the series discuss topics related to the Arts & Humanities; Assistive Technology & Science; Disability through the Life Course; Education; Employment & Work; Ethics, Law & Policy; Health & Medicine; and Rehabilitation Interventions.
Access over 3,600 articles in this collection of e-books from Oxford University Press. The titles in this collection cover a wide variety of topics tied to the field of psychology, including disorders, cultures, children and families, cognition, and much more.
Aimed at readers who are not experts in the field, the material is relevant to courses in natural sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. It presents and analyzes the underpinnings of the multi-disciplinary concept of sustainability.