Use of e-books is restricted by licensing agreements to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff of Grove City College. These resources are only available from the GCC campus network. Click herefor more information.
The "Encyclopedia of Social Work [is] the first continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Building off the classic reference work, a valuable tool for social workers for over 85 years, the online resource of the same name offers the reliability of print with the accessibility of a digital platform. Over 400 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, offer students, scholars, and practitioners a trusted foundation for a lifetime of work and research, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly."
Online edition of 26 volume encyclopedia covering all fields of the social and behavioral sciences. Subjects covered include: aging, psychology, demography, education, gender studies, law, linguistics, public policy, sociology, urban planning, etc.
Access over 3,600 articles in this collection of e-books from Oxford University Press. The titles in this collection cover a wide variety of topics tied to the field of psychology, including disorders, cultures, children and families, cognition, and much more.
access to must-have resources such as: DSM™ Library titles including DSM-5™, DSM-5™ Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-5™ Clinical Cases. Journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, and Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences.
The DSM 5 is also available in print Ref RC 455.2.C4 D54 2013
Containing contributions of major empirical and theoretical interest, this series represents the best and the brightest in new research, theory, and practice in social psychology. The library has v.14 - 44 available for use (closed stacks)
This multi-disciplinary encyclopedia covers curricular subjects related to divorce, both in the U.S. and globally, as examined by disciplines ranging from marriage and the family to anthropology, social and legal history, developmental and clinical psychology, and religion, all through a lens of cultural sociology. Appendices provide further annotated sources of data and statistics.
Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity is the first encyclopedia to reflect the changes in the mission of human services professionals as they face today's increasingly diverse service population. Diversity encompasses a broad range of human differences, including differences in ability and disability, age, education level, ethnicity, gender, geographic origin, religion, sexual orientation, socioeconomic class, and values.
Key Themes: Children and Youth Services; Community Development; Cultural Competence in Human Services; Culture-Specific Services; Family Services; Hospitals, Health Care, and Cultural Competence; International Cultural Competence; Legislation and Regulations; Mental and Behavioral Health Services; Organizations, Programs, Government Agencies and Departments; Race and Ethnicity; Regional Cultural Competence; Socioeconomic Status and Cultural Competence
Information on the central terms, concepts, topics, issues, themes, debates, theories, and texts as well as to examine the topic of motherhood in various contexts such as history and geography and by academic discipline.
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness in a manner that is accessible and jargon-free to help readers better understand human behavior in sport and exercise settings.
This book examines the unexplored field of applying social change to civic engagement in an effort to enlarge public welfare activities. It covers such topics as civic education, sustainable development, and child labor, citizen services, poverty reduction, rural development, and social media.
Discusses the Great Recession (2007-2009) in America, including what happened, its effects, how poverty is measured, government reactions, longstanding impacts, society's response, and what we can do to address poverty. Primary documents and recommended resources are included.
This handbook explains the many ways psychology is being applied to promote social justice, addressing such issues as social justice ideology and critical psychology, war and trauma, poverty and classism, environmental justice, and well-being and suffering. It showcases approaches for integrating social justice into psychology, and it examines psychology's application of social justice within special populations.
The SAGE Reference Series on Disability is a cross-disciplinary and issues-based series which incorporates links from varied fields making up disability studies.
The eight volumes in the series discuss topics related to the Arts & Humanities; Assistive Technology & Science; Disability through the Life Course; Education; Employment & Work; Ethics, Law & Policy; Health & Medicine; and Rehabilitation Interventions.
Chronicles the social, cultural, economic, and political aspects of American families from the colonial period to the present. Key themes include families and culture (including mass media), families and religion, families and the economy, families and social issues, families and social stratification and conflict, family structures (including marriage and divorce, gender roles, parenting and children, and mixed and non-modal family forms), and family law and policy.
"This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter." Subjects covered include business, education, literary criticism, philosophy, political science, religion, engineering, and others. New titles are added monthly.
Books can be read online or downloaded onto another device. Portions of books can be printed.